We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful gem of a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #19 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london, england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unbelievable views over the harbour, great spot. Only a few bedrooms, with a very generous and nicely decorated dining and terrace area underneath the rooms, with equally great views. Lovely staff and very accommodating. My boyfriend asked if he could have porridge for breakfast - it wasn't on the menu, but the chef bought some and cooked it every morning for him. Also, we didn't have a table in our room (apparently the rooms usually have fold-up tables for use on the terrace), so Alan kindly carried upstairs a table (heavy!) and chair from the dining area which was ideal. Dressing gown and slippers also provided. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else if we go back to Newquay.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view over the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a very kind review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
108
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in July with wife. Bed hard which I liked. Sheets and copious towels changed daily. Balcony view of harbour as I think all rooms have. Good quality ingredients for breakfast, but kippers I had once looked 'boil in the bag'. Staff very friendly and accomodating.Quiet except for harbour activity which is one reason to choose this hotel so you should appreciate this.
Fishing boats leave on high tide which can be early in the morning. Parking is a little tricky but you can turn around in boat park down the hill then reverse into side road if needed. Nearby walk to Fistral beach and in other direction to town shops.Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
thank you for taking the time to submit a review, and your comments.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have just returned home after an exceptional stay at this beautiful guest house,perfect location,friendly,helpful staff,very good food.i read all the reviews before I booked and can honestly say that everything you read is spot on.......a little gem in newquay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you Caroline.
We appreciate your comments very much.
PS everything works now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

When you are met by friendly staff, shown to a lovely room with your own balcony and staggering views, fed like a king, made to feel at home, relaxed and cosseted, what more could anyone possibly want?
A fabulous break in a great location, and thanks to everyone at the harbour. A truly special place, run by special people.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Julie.
So glad that you and your partner enjoyed your anniversary with us, and we hope to see you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now I'm not going to write a terrific review for this hotel, since I wouldn't want loads of people booking up rooms, so that I can't get one on future trips. So if you don't want a hotel with a fabulous view, a balcony to sit on sipping a beer watching all that goes on in a working harbour, great boutique rooms, newly fitted bathrooms, great dinners, friendly staff and within walking distance of one of the best beaches in Europe, then please book somewhere else!!!

One request for Alan - my good lady suggest that you fit a mirror above the chest of draws that can be seen by someone less than 5'6"!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for the flattering review.
I have ordered a mirror and it will be up next week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from our second stay at this beautiful hotel.very relaxing easy going hotel all the staff are very friendly and helpful.we also dined at the restaurant and the food was delicious.looking forward to going back. Rob and leanne

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you Rob and Leanne.
So glad you enjoyed your time again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just got back from a fantastic stay at this wonderful little place, great location, wonderful staff, yummy food, comfortable cosy and clean rooms, and the best of views. What more can I say, we liked it so much we got engaged whilst we were there :) see you for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KezandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb5980, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks Edd.
Glad everything went according to plan, and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing