We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really what it says on the tin!”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #27 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The location and staff are fantastic, access is awkward and do not expect to park your car anywhere near this location, our room was very snug with a tiny en-suite (kids stayed in a caravan at Peron sands and the toilet was much bigger!) the room was clean, cosy and well presented and the bed comfortable, the WIFI was very good and in with the price, the breakfast is also included and a good choice is available and cooked and presented vey well in the very nice restaurant. Our room was very noisy from the restaurant below, the loud music from the town and the staff room behind us. The access to the room "FLY" is not well lit even at night. The hotel sits on the hillside on the main access road to one side of the harbour and thus has no allocated parking, it is a short walk to the town, hence the noise from the town carries easily late into the night on Friday and Saturday. The stay fell well short of expectations as a quiet comfortable hotel is actually a thriving restaurant with 5 small rooms attached with fantastic views, and basic clean accommodation.

Room Tip: They all face the Harbour so views are great, from what I saw they are all snug, try and avoid no 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

It's hard to know where to begin responding to your review.
You state so many positives and yet only give a 2 star rating.
I personally feel totally deflated by your star rating.
I have been here nearly 18 years, and feel that you have insulted what I do, the standards that I work to, and belittled a large part of my life.
I have always hoped that we undersold ourselves.
To address your criticisms......
You were not staying in Fly, but in Hope. Each bedroom has a down lighter in the corridor ceiling outside the bedroom door. Corridor lights are left on all night. They are dimmed because most people seem to prefer this. You could have altered the dimmer switch, or asked a member of staff to do so.
The ensuite is small, but the ceramics, radiator, wall tiling, and flooring was replaced last year.
Parking can sometimes be difficult. But it is free right outside our front door, free within 100 yards, and there are car parks within a 5 minute walk. Prior to arrival if you had requested parking we could have arranged it.
While we are on a cliff overlooking the harbour and beaches, we are also in the town centre.
All our bedrooms have ceiling fans .
You chose to come to a seaside resort, on the busiest weekend of the year, I'm sorry but there is bound to be noise. If you didn't want to be disturbed by external sounds you could have shut your balcony door at night and turned the fan on.
Yes we have a restaurant. We take last food orders at 8.45 and the restaurant is generally finished by 11.00 pm. This is neither late nor loud.
Our restaurant is only seasonal.
To my mind, we provide guest accommodation.
Finally, in our comments book, you have written " great service", why oh why oh why could you not have approached either myself or a member of staff and aired any of your concerns?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the harbour hotel for 2 nights, from the minute we arrived we couldn't believe how close it was to the beach, it literally overlooks the harbour, the best located place too stay in Newquay amazing views, staff were lovely so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, the room was really nice with lots off extras for extra touches bathrobes/slippers/hot chocolate/glass bottled water and branded toiletries :) breakfast was lovely with so much to choose from, everything looks so nice,and literally a few minuites to walk into the town would defiantly stay here again :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned home from a magical time in New Quay, the Harbour Hotel was outstanding,

Food, from various choices for breakfast were excellent ranging from fresh fruit, True FULL English breakfast to Smoked Salmon.
Recommend the evening restaurant, all the meals we had could not fault them, from the fresh caught fish to the deserts and cocktails.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Rooms were very clean and the view from the balcony overlooking the harbour were stunning

GREAT PLACE. Will highly recommend to my family and friends and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Evegeorginab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you Eve, and so glad that you both enjoyed your time with us. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unbelievable views over the harbour, great spot. Only a few bedrooms, with a very generous and nicely decorated dining and terrace area underneath the rooms, with equally great views. Lovely staff and very accommodating. My boyfriend asked if he could have porridge for breakfast - it wasn't on the menu, but the chef bought some and cooked it every morning for him. Also, we didn't have a table in our room (apparently the rooms usually have fold-up tables for use on the terrace), so Alan kindly carried upstairs a table (heavy!) and chair from the dining area which was ideal. Dressing gown and slippers also provided. Couldn't imagine staying anywhere else if we go back to Newquay.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view over the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank homelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a very kind review, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights in July with wife. Bed hard which I liked. Sheets and copious towels changed daily. Balcony view of harbour as I think all rooms have. Good quality ingredients for breakfast, but kippers I had once looked 'boil in the bag'. Staff very friendly and accomodating.Quiet except for harbour activity which is one reason to choose this hotel so you should appreciate this.
Fishing boats leave on high tide which can be early in the morning. Parking is a little tricky but you can turn around in boat park down the hill then reverse into side road if needed. Nearby walk to Fistral beach and in other direction to town shops.Would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

thank you for taking the time to submit a review, and your comments.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have just returned home after an exceptional stay at this beautiful guest house,perfect location,friendly,helpful staff,very good food.i read all the reviews before I booked and can honestly say that everything you read is spot on.......a little gem in newquay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you Caroline.
We appreciate your comments very much.
PS everything works now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When you are met by friendly staff, shown to a lovely room with your own balcony and staggering views, fed like a king, made to feel at home, relaxed and cosseted, what more could anyone possibly want?
A fabulous break in a great location, and thanks to everyone at the harbour. A truly special place, run by special people.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alsieb14, Owner at The Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you Julie.
So glad that you and your partner enjoyed your anniversary with us, and we hope to see you both again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 37 in Newquay
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
888 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £95 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing