We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Location, location location!”
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #28 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Stayed here for the Easter Break - what a fabulous location, views from the bedrooms are stunning, you could sit on your balcony all day watching the Harbour. We ate in the restaurant one of the evenings and the food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked. Breakfast is excellent as well! We have stayed at the Headland in the past but will come back here if we can get in!!! We stayed in room 4 which is compact but the fabulous weather made up for the small (ish) room, they have quality furnishings and nice little extras in the rooms

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2008

Having grown up in Newquay it was important to me that I picked the right place. My wife has never seen Newquay so I wanted somewhere special. After reading reviews of the Harbour Hotel on Trip Advisor I was convinced this was the place to stay. I spent many of my childhood years in this part of Newquay and wanted to revisit those many memories I had of the area.

We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by Russell...He was exceptionally polite and very very helpful...Thank you!
This is a family run hotel and in our opinion is what makes this hotel stand out from the rest.
The service was outstanding, the bed was so comfortable and the VIEW from our balcony room was beautiful not only do you have the view of the harbour but also most of the Newquay beaches, to include Towan, Great Western, Tolcarne,Lusty Glaze and almost Porth and beyond...you cant get that from any other hotel....Only one other thing to mention....you must have breakfast.....I miss that english breakfast .....and the view that we experienced every morning.....Will we ever return ...Of course we will. One nice touch that put the icing on the cake WIFI was available, enabling us to stay in contact with our family back in Australia.
THANKS to all of you at the Harbour Hotel it was a beautiful and memorable stay.
A note to fellow travelers Cornwall has many narrow roads drive carefull and respect other road user
Regards
LC and DC (Sydney Australia)

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank LC_DC_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Decent hotels in Newquay are few and far between as most cater for the not so discerning groups of teenagers/early 20 year olds looking for a cheap place to crash. The Harbour Hotel is not like that at all, it is for couples old and young to enjoy the finer side of Newquay (yes there is one, you just need to know where to look) me and my husband booked into room 4 for 3 nights and enjoyed great views, a clean room and good breakfasts. We actually live in Newquay but had lent our flat to friends for the duration so know the Harbour Hotel well already as they do lovely evening meals too. Room 4 is a bit small, but our friends were in room 3 and I had a peek - it's much bigger, and I understand that other rooms are even nicer - so book early. All rooms have balconies overlooking the lovely harbour though and its a real treat to wander out there in the morning sunshine and watch the fishermen or seals below.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Just arrived back from a two night stay at The Harbour Hotel Newquay. My husband and I just wanted a short break to chill a bit and this hotel certainly fitted the bill. The hotel only has five rooms we picked the dual aspect room with the jacuzzi bath. The room was perfect the view gorgeous its so near the harbour you couldnt get any closer without actually being in the water! The room has antique furniture the most comfy bed we've ever slept in a flat screen telly and a lovely balcony to sit and watch the sea coming in.

The room like the rest of the hotel is spotlessly clean and feels just like a home from home. There is an honesty bar in the small bar come restaurant area that also has a terrace its so cosy we just didn't want to leave! The restaurant was closed as we were out of season which we were really disapointed about as all the reviews we have read about it have raved about the food. This we can believe as the full english breakfast was delicious. The young guy looking after us couldnt have been more helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Although Newquay is a busy holiday area the hotel is the other side of the bay and feels a million miles away from any hustle and bustle of the town. We have already decided to spend our wedding anniversay there this summer and although it will then be high season we are sure the setting of this lovely hotel will still be as idyllic as it is now in low season.

We'd just like to thank the hotel for a lovely break and say we look forward to seeing you soon.Many thanks Julie and Richard.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neathfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We have just had an amazing weekend at the Harbour Hotel. Its position on the cliff top overlooking the small picturesque harbour is breathtaking. The balconies in the bedrooms and restaurant area all face towards the east and the harbour. In the morning we were woken by the rising sun shining into the room.
The bedroom, we had the double aspect one, was lovely particularly with the jacuzzi bath. It had a very comfortable bed with lots of little touches such as slippers, dressing gowns, chocolate on the bed and of course Molton Brown toileteries. Not to mention the antique furniture throughout.
Breakfast was very nice, very well cooked with lots of choice, this is served in the restaurant which doubles up as the bar area in the evening.
The hosts are so friendly and very obliging, they can not do enough for you. Their advice on places not to miss, was invaluable and made such a difference to a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ken_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

An amazing hotel built into the cliffs overlooking a working harbour. The hotel has 5 en-suite rooms which are all individual and very tastefully decorated. All rooms overlook the beautiful harbour with some having a small terrace to sit out on and enjoy the sunshine.

The restaurant location, service and food are second to non.

The bar is very cosy with an open fire for winter evenings.

As the hotel is small you get very good personal service. The staff are very friendly and professional. The head bar tender was more than happy to join us for a drink so he could delight us with stories about the old days!

O.hookham

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NorthernMonkey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We stopped at the Harbour Hotel for the first time this year. The owners are warm and friendly, The rooms are wonderfully decorated with restored furniture, comfy beds, pretty bathrooms and each has a balcony where you can sit and watch the seals follow the fishing boats into the Harbour. The Hotel is beautifully decorated through out and residents can use the honesty bar at any time. The food is great with plenty of choice at breakfast. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will go back again, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £96 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location overlooking Newquay Harbour. Relaxed unpretentious personal service. All bedrooms with balconies and Harbour views and all public rooms and restaurant directly overlook the sea. Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing