We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel that lives up to expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbour
Ranked #19 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ingatestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel that lives up to expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Just returned from a 3 day stay at this beautiful hotel. The position is idyllic and the views are as good or better than the web photos. The food was exceptional and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieIngatestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brighton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

I cannot fault this hotel at all. Amazing views of the coast. If you do have the pleasure of staying here, make sure you have a meal or two at the hotels restaurant and try some of their beutiful fresh fish. The staff where also simply wonderfull.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayuk1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Arrived at night to be shown to our room and dropped our bags in delight as we rushed to the balcony over looking the harbour, lights of the fishing boats and the town and far away distant bays twinkling and the moonlight on the water just took our breath away. Up to the Red Lion for a late supper and a few beers set us up for a cosy sleep to awake happy and refreshed to the sounds of gulls and fisherfolk. Breakfast at the Harbour was a perfect start to the day, spent walking the beaches from bay to bay when the tide was out. My first Lobster was pre ordered for Sat night dinner at Butchers Bistro - a monumental success. Fistral was sunny and warm and awash with surfers, try the salmon fishcakes from the Blue Fish Bar. The folk at the Harbour have it all sewn up, beautiful accomodation, breathtaking views, unobtrusive customer care. A triumph x

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisEWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

The best thing about this hotel is its location. The views are superb. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the central Newquay beaches and harbour is second to none.
It’s within 5 mins walking distance of shops, and the beaches are just down the steps from the hotel when the tide is out.

I was travelling with my sister and niece (for a 4 night holiday) and we wanted something more family orientated. A lot of accommodation in Newquay seemed to be either low budget B&B's for the surfing crowd, or over priced hotels. After a lot of research we decided on the harbour due to good reviews, its balconies, and the fact that it looked small and more peaceful. We definitely made the right choice.

The only downsides if any are that in my room I could here music from the bar & restaurant later on, as room 4 is directly above. This could not be heard from my sisters in room (1 - the dual aspect). Maybe that was due to it being peak season.
The rooms are a lot smaller than their website depicts. That said they are very clean. The bed was comfy, and thick curtains meant that you were not awakened by the sunrise. There are nice extra's such as dressing gowns/slippers, luxury toiletries, and chocolates. Rooms have Freeview TV’s, but don’t expect to get any connection from their WIFI upstairs though.

Service was excellent - swapping the duck down bedding due to my sister’s allergy was no problem. Breakfast was really nice.

There was a mix-up with the bill so if you have paid in advance as we did, take your receipt with you. Overall I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in Newquay this past weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We enjoy finding quality restaurants around London with interesting atmosphere and great food. We wanted to find a special restaurant for our anniversary dinner, with amazing views of the local beaches and harbour and situated away from the noisy tourist crowd on the main street (singles and young families during peak school holiday season).

The Harbour Hotel was recommended by a local tourist agent as being a popular restaurant for good ambiance and fine dining, and also slightly off the beaten track.

We enjoyed our gourmet dining experience (pan fried Hake wrapped in prosciutto served with a side of roast tomatoes and risotto cakes and baked Halibut served with hand cut chips, fresh herbs and a bearnaise sauce)- so much so that we went back the following evening for a more casual dining experience to enjoy a supreme version of traditional fish & chips and a second serving of the delightful roast pepper and tomato soup entree.

Highlights include mouth watering seafood and second-to-none hand cut chips, fantastic service and a breathtaking view of the harbour and surrounding beaches, seated on the balcony indoors or al fresco. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone interested in quality fine dining accompanied by a view second-to-none. It also looks like a lovely place to stay, especially if seal spotting is included!!

Thank you to The Harbour Hotel staff for making this a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saritastardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We were in Room 4 which is v small but perfectly formed. All rooms have a balcony overlooking the harbour and the sea. The hotel is in the centre of town but off a side street which means that it is away from the noise, hustle and bustle. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. They also have a restaurant for lunch or dinner and we had dinner there one night which was the nicest meal we had throughout our stay - recommended especially if you like fresh fish. Can't recommend it highly enough and we would definetly return if going back to Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuvetDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We had lunch and dinner here. Both times the food was absolutely excellent, and the service was great. Views over the harbour are lovely. Newquay is in short supply of decent restaurants - make sure you don't miss this one. Just down from the Red Lion pub, at the Fistral beach end of the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestEndRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#14 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour

Property: The Harbour
Address: North Quay Hill, Newquay TR7 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location.Relaxed unpretentious personal service.All bedrooms with balconies and all public rooms directly overlook the sea.Free wifi and fluffy duvets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing