We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silver Jubilee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Silver Jubilee
Ranked #103 of 112 Newquay B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Close to the seafront, short walk to the shops and attractions such as Buccaneer Bay. Tourist information just round the corner too. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms were perfect, cannot fault in any way. The fudge sweets on the pillows were a nice touch! Julie and Andrew were very friendly and accommodating. Even got a little gift as we left! Thank you for a lovely stay. :D

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTamworth, Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your vote of confidence, it's always great to receive such positive and motivating reports. It proved we are getting it right! Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    5
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
6
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have had a wonderful time, staying at this owner-run b & b for the first summer holiday in cornwall with our 2 year old. We loved the friendly staff, the hearty breakfast meals and the all-round feeling welcome and cared for very much. Beaches and accommodations within easy walking distance, even with a little one. Thank you very much for a much needed break, which did us a world of good!

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as you can and let the Hatton's know about particularities, e.g. that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTamworth, Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
It is as always a pleasure to take care of NICE people111 :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Silver Jubilee is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for excellent service, clean accomadation and central to all that newquay has to offer. Andrew is the perfect host and is couldn't have done more for us. The cleanliness of the property and rooms is unbelieveable, the rooms are spacious enough. Breakfasts cater for everyone and Miriam always serves you with a smile. This is definately a B&B that takes pride in itself and its reputation. We will definately be returning in the future with our little one.
We would like to add that we have never left a review on any hotel on any website but after the service we received here we felt we had to let others know.
Thanks again Andrew, Judith and Miriam for the lovely service you provided.

Ajit & Minal

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTamworth, General Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Great report folks, totally unexpected, glad you like what we do... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Don't be put off by the tight parking area, if you have booked in for private parking, as this pleasant and rather quaint traditional B&B has plenty to offer.We weren't sure at first, but when we entered the front of the property, we could see everything was spotlessly clean and tidy, and the warm welcome from Andrew, the proprietor, was fabulous!
The rooms (we were two couples, sisters and husbands) were spacious enough, and very comfortable. Nice touches,such as all the room accessories matching, and the provision of extra little bits and pieces such as sweets and fruit.
The breakfasts were fantastic, with plenty on offer. Nothing was too much trouble, and Andrew is very generous with maps, books, beach equipment for guests to borrow etc.
Good central spot, without being to rowdy -you can walk to all the beaches from here, and to the town centre with all its shops, pubs, restaurants and clubs.
As long as you don't expect an ultra -modern style of accommodation, we highly recommend The Silver Jubilee for good value, straightforward accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewTamworth, Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
It was a pleasure and a privilage to care for such nice people, no doubt we will be seeing you again, next time bring a bussload ....LOL...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The silver jubilee is in central Newquay, and not far away from anything really. The rooms where very comfortable and had everything you could need while your away. Breakfast was spot on and the owner was very helpful and friendly. It was a delight to stay in this little B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sian_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiddyNewquay, Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your support, we ned more nice people as guests here like yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The Silver Jubilee is a great place to stay in central Newquay that is quiet enough (not that anything in Newquay is quiet, especially on a long weekend!). The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the owners are very gracious and will help you out with any request you may have. Breakfasts are massive and delicious and there is tons of selection if you have any special requests they seem more than happy to do their best to provide. Totally recommend for anyone who needs an easy place to stay for a few nights.

Room Tip: send an email to the owners and they'll help you get the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiddyNewquay, Manager at The Silver Jubilee, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
I like it when people relax an interact with us, your demands are our commands and we do our best to please...it is so nice to be apriciated, thank you!!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
züri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I had a great time in Cornwall. Travelling around was tremendous. Visiting the smart and easy Silver Jubilee in Newquay I enjoyed the friendly athmosphere in there. The Silver Jubilee is a rather small and very cosy place. Located only a few minutes away from the sandy beaches and the magic cliffs, it is even close to the shopping areas.
Central and quiet situated, best services, nice food and last but not least bike and ecofriendly!

Room Tip: Room are all different and nice, just tell Andy and Judy which one you would like
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissbiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Trevilla Guesthouse
Trevilla Guesthouse
#55 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Invernook Hotel
Invernook Hotel
#13 of 112 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glendeveor
The Glendeveor
#7 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Jubilee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Jubilee

Property: The Silver Jubilee
Address: 13 Berry Road, Newquay TR7 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Silver Jubilee 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run establishment in the heart of Newquay, close to shops; Railway station and entertainment with many Family-friendly Pubs and restaurants nearby. All 7 beaches are within 5 to 20 mins walking distance. Limited parking at rear at £3.50 Per day but lots of free residential spots on nearby streets, phone for details. Catering from singles, to couples and families of up to 4. Also 2 twin rooms available. Base rate in all rooms from £25.00 Per person for en-suite facilities. Children up to 15 half price. Offers available, book 4 nights and pay for 3, book a week and pay for 5 nights. Book 60 days in advance and get up to 20% Discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Silver Jubilee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silver Jubilee Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing