We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, friendly smiles.”

Rolling Waves Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rolling Waves Hotel
Ranked #42 of 106 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We spent a very comfortable two nights at the Rolling Waves. The welcome was warm, the smiles genuine and accommodation comfortable and spotlessly clean. The view from our bedroom was spectacular. Breakfast was a real treat. Well cooked and extremely tasty. I am pleased to say that my veggie tastes were catered for without hesitation. Alec and Jenny recieve from us without doubt an A* 10/10. Really can't wait to be able to return again for another stay. Hopefully a little longer next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollypop1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

stayed here for 8 night . Alec and Jenny were the perfect hosts. warm welcoming and made us feel so much at home. the lovely cooked Brakfast was a great start to the day with extra tea coffee and toast ofered and plenty of fruit and cereals on offer. the view was outstanding . Alec & Jenny were always on hand but not too much to make you feel unxomfortable and we will be back ther again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Stayed at The Rolling Waves for three nights in July. The owners, Alec and Jenny were extremely helpful and friendly. The room we had was small, but very clean and thought had obviously been put into making the most of the small space. We had no problems finding room for our bags and clothes. Breakfast was fine and when we asked for more tea it was brought quickly and we were asked if we also wanted more toast. We didn't have the evening meal - we ate out with relatives, but would happily have eaten there otherwise. The prices were what we would expect for the area and time of year we went (£35 pppn). We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maggiebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Me, my partner and young daughter stayed at the hotel week commencing 21st July 2008. We found the owners very pleasant , made us feel very welcome and made us tea on arrival. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was great. We did not have the evening meals but wished we had have done now!. They make sure you are ok and try to accomodate your needs where possible. The ensuite shower was adequate, the bed was comfortable. I think Rolling Waves is very good for families. They provided my young daughter with a high chair and her very own cutelery set and plate etc which i did not expect as we have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before. I did not want to leave. On the last day, Alec and Jenny saw us to the door and waved us off, until we were out of sight. It felt more like we had visited relatives rather than strangers. Will definately consider going back again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed at 'Rolling Waves' one week ago and got the impression that they are only interested in taking our money. The room was basically a single with a double bed in it, there is no room for your bags (but there is a notice saying they will store them in their garage). They say they provide a full english breakfast but they dont even know what one is and you would not want to give the sausages to your dog. It was the most expensive B + B we have ever stayed at. The toast at breakfast consisted of one slice each (well they dont want to eat into their profits) do they? My advice would be DONT GO THERE and if everywhere else is full - sleep in your car, there will be more room.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trooper2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Me and my partner stayed at the Rolling Waves B&B for 4 nights at the beginning of August 2007.

The B&B is run by a lovely, friendly couple who take great care in making your stay very enjoyable. We stayed in a comfortable room which had fitted wardrobes, a double bed and ensuite shower room. The room was very small and rather cramped at times- they do have larger rooms but none were available for the time we booked. The ensuite shower room was also very small making it difficult to get dry after a shower at times!! However, the small size of the room is compensated for by the very high level of cleanliness. The room is cleaned thoroughly and towels are replaced when you need them each day.

The furniture in the room is of good quality and the decor is very cosy and makes you feel at home. The only real problem (which wasn't that big a deal) was the shower- it was VERY old and had very little power to it which meant that washing the soap out of your hair took a very long time.

On arrival at the B&B Jennie made us very welcome and offered us a cup of tea before showing us to our room. The B&B is a great location as it is a 5 minute walk from Porth Beach, its near to a beautiful cliff walk, near a pub and shops and is a 5-10 minute drive from Newquay town centre. It is also very near to lots of attractions such as Newquay Zoo, go karting and plenty of places to eat and drink. It is also near to where the big Newquay surf festival takes place and if you stay at the same time as we did you will find plenty to do with this festival being on!

The accomodation was great for us- a couple in our 20s but also ideal for older couples and couples with families (no pets are allowed). We paid £31 PPPN and this included breafkast each morning in a small room looking out over the beach and a beautiful sea view. The breakfast was delicious with a selection of toast, cereals, juice, full english breakfast and tea/coffee. The B&B also offers an evening meal which we did not sample but if it was a delicious as the breakfast then it would have been superb!

We did not spend a great deal of time at the B&B as we would be out exploring the town each day after breakfast before returning to shower and change before we went out to the pub each evening but it was a delightful place to stay- so much so that we are hoping to return there next year.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diva_deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Lewinnick Lodge
Lewinnick Lodge
#12 of 106 in Newquay
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Hotel

Address: Alexandra Road, Newquay TR7 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolling Waves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rolling Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing