We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money with warm friendly atmosphere”

Rolling Waves Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rolling Waves Hotel
Ranked #41 of 107 Newquay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in the family room at the rolling waves for three nights. This was our second visit and just as enjoyable as our first in 2012. Alec and Jenny were perfect hosts and could not do enough to accommodate us and our small baby, even buying her gifts. The family room is a good size and catered for all our needs although the ensuite is on the small side but adequate. We would definitely recommend this b&b and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ducis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived late (gone 10pm, nearly 11pm) but were still welcomed by the owners with a pot of tea and plate of biscuits. The whole place was immaculate and tastefully designed, with amazing views of the sea.

Our room was spotless and very comfortable for 3 adults sharing.

Breakfast was served at a time to suit us and was very tasty.

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

the b&b was excellent. very clean throughout. the host were brilliant, it was our first stay in the area, where they were very helpful.
the location of b&b was ideal, just 10 min walk from newquay, hence quiet but not far from newquay centre. but the choice beachs around the b&b were the best.
we would recommend this to anyone, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The owners, Alec and Jenny are absolutely lovely.
First time i stayed at the Rolling Waves Hotel in Cornwall was with my best friend because she recommended it. Been a lot of times since and i can not fault the place.

The area is gorgeous in the sun - you have a beach two minutes walk away, a pub just before you get to that beach, there is a lovely walk across the way which takes you to the edge of the sea where you can look upon everything and get some stunning pictures.

The hotel looks small however, if its two people staying for 3 or 4 nights then what more can you ask for. I cannot comment on the family size rooms because i dont have a family to take on holiday.

I have recommended it however to everyone i know if they ever get to visit Cornwall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElElton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Firstly I want to thank Alec and Jenny for making this a pleasurable and welcoming stay, I enjoyed my 4 days in Porth. Very good hosts.
Fellow travelers this review is easy;
Well maintained hotel, VERY clean, excellent breakfasts and dinner. Rolling Waves deserves to be fully booked all year round.
Thank you Alec and Jenny it was a pleasure meeting you.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Globaltraveller9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in October 11 Alec & Jenny met us upon arrival and prepared tea & Coffee for us which was most welcome.
Our room was small but with a lovely outlook across Porth beach and and the sea in the distance. All freshly decorated and in fine order.
Our bed initially felt a little lumpy but was spotlessly clean with fresh bedlinen, we slept very well on it. The bedrooms are well insulated for noise and we enjoyed peaceful nights.
Breakfast was a good meal with a wide choice of the usual fare, well cooked and well presented it was hot and plentiful.
Massive pots of tea, loads of toast, just the right way to start the day!
It would be wrong not to mention Alec and Jenny's first class hosting skills- a more welcoming couple I have yet to meet! Thank you both for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkingBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent 3 nights here the end of July, 2011, and were very impressed with this B&B. The owners are absolutely wonderful! They treat guests as visiting friends, doing all that they possibly can to make your stay a delight.

The building is situated on the main beach drive, with beautiful views of both the closest local beach as well as of the cliff-top hiking area directly across the street. It's a central and scenic location, that is (thankfully) not in the heart of the neighbouring and more frantic town of Newquay (although it's less than 2 miles away.)

The place is immaculately clean, with freshly-ironed sheets and a sitting area with a killer view for all guests to share. The same view is seem from the breakfast area, where generous full English breakfasts are served.

Our bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed our stay here immensely. The one factor that kept me from rating this more highly was the small size of our bathroom, with the sink location inside the bedroom, rather than in the bathroom. This is, however, a very slight negative, and as we had booked, last minute, it was one of the last available rooms. This would not be the case in the larger rooms in the very front of the house, upstairs. Ask when booking about the ensuite set up in the available rooms.

We took all of Alex's thoughtful advice to heart, including rushing to make reservations to eat at Jamie Oliver's restaurant ("Fifteen") closeby (also recommended!) His recommendations and tips were all spot on, and we are grateful to have had the luck to stay at his establishment. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Tregella Guest House Newquay
0.6 mi away
Kallacliff Hotel
Kallacliff Hotel
#10 of 107 in Newquay
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cliff House
Cliff House
#15 of 107 in Newquay
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Waves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Waves Hotel

Address: Alexandra Road, Newquay TR7 3NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range: £54 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rolling Waves Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rolling Waves Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Waves Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing