We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed and breakfast in the south west”
Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #5 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best bed and breakfast in the south west”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at Geko Rest during the May half term (2013). The family room was perfect with separate bedroom for our two young children. The standard of cleanliness was very high and the hosts made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was good value offering lots of variety. With a very comfortable lounge/ games room and access to the breakfast room to eat take away in the evening, we had everything a family needs. The location was perfect with only a walk to the centre of town and the beach yet very quiet in the evening. With trips to Padstow and Tintagel and beautiful weather we had a really good time. We would recommend the Geko Rest to families and couples.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiliain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
191
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very good B and B, Rooms were lovely and the best sea view you can get, breakfasts were very nice and the owners were lovely will be stopping here again as its only down the hill in to the town and the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is such a nice B&B. The rooms are clean and we had a lovely view of the city by the sea. The breakfast each morning was really delicious and enough to keep us going until dinner! The hosts - John and Amy were lovely and gave us good advice on where to eat and go in Newquay. The service was brilliant. The B&B is located really close to the town and the sea - it is only a short walk to get to both. We would certainly go here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theweecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It must have been good because we returned for a second visit. See previous detailed review called “A little gem” dated 09/06/12.
Amy and John are still exceptional hosts who cannot do enough for their guests. There have been some improvements too, like sourcing more local produce for their breakfasts, the bacon particularly was delicious. It’s so nice to see that they are investing time and money in making a stay at Geckos Rest the best it can be. They obviously take pride in what they do. If we visit Newquay again I would have no qualms about booking this guest house, in fact I'd be disappointed if was unable to stay here.
Geckos Rest is clean, tidy, in a great location, with great hosts and an excellent breakfast. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcsajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Geckos Rest, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We are very pleased you decided to come back to stay with us and we are extremely happy you had another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We were four good friends who spent ten days at Gekos Rest. John and Amy did everything for us to enjoy our stay and they certainly succeeded. Awesome service-minded and nice. The rooms were nice and quiet. We had rooms that overlooked the courtyard

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and I can happily say I would have no hesitation in booking again.Rooms very clean including bathroom and linen,I booked off street parking Newquay town is just 3 minutes walk away but just far enough out of the 'noise/drinking zone.Breakfast was included & comprised normal cereals etc or a hearty home cooked full English .We ate out most evenings however we brought home a Thai takeaway and the owners were only to happy to provide us plates etc this is not a stag/hen venue however would suit couples/family great .Overall very good and thanks to Amy and John for welcoming us as hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandmaravee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City MD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

There were 7 in our party raging in age from 2 to 60 and were all delightfully taken care of. I was also impressed when i asked the landlord if he could supply an HDMI connect from my laptop to the the large screen TV in the lounge so I could show the days photos to our company. I didn't expect this feature so far from London, but it worked out fine. The breakfast kippers were also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Squarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
the quies
the quies
#6 of 105 in Newquay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Property: Geckos Rest
Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing