We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #3 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochdale
1 review
“Friendly, comfortable and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My son and I stayed at the Geckos Rest for 6 nights and found the guest house to be extremely comfortable in an excellent location. Amy and John were fabulous friendly hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculate, modern and very comfortable, couldn't fault it at all. I would definitely recommend and go back for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
158
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Obviously it ticks all the boxes for clean, modern, great location, but here's why I loved it...

1. Perfect poached eggs. Everyday. Marmite for your toast too.
2. Magic Mike, Point Break and Dirty Dancing in the DVD library... (even though we didn't get any time to watch DVDs!)
3. Gecko decorations hidden everywhere, but tastefully done. No darts players wives here.
4. Indoor, clean, wetsuit wash/hang room
5. A full range of people from older couples to young families all made welcome with friendly banter.
6. Wii and Xbox 360 to entertain the kids...
7. John offering people free tickets he's been given the night before
8. Great recommendations of places to go...also John knowing which beach you've been to by the type of sand he's cleaned out of your bath that morning!
9. Best sellers on the bookshelf, not just weird books no one has ever heard of.
10. Amazing views and great weather (although we might just have been lucky on that one :) )

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SummaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at Geckos Rest. We had a fantastic room, perfect for a family of four. The layout is very clever, allowing the children to be in a separate space to us. The beds were extremely comfortable, the view was simply stunning, and the room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean.

John & Amy are wonderful hosts and the breakfast is excellent. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Newquay.

Thank you so much John & Amy for a lovely couple of days,

Jane & Tony Walker

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

After looking for a B&B in Newquay that wasn't too expensive and reading the excellent reviews the Geckos Rest seemed to fit the bill for 2 nights stay for our 10th anniversary. We were shown to a beautiful large bright and airy room with sea view. It was absolutely immaculately clean!! Not even a water mark on the tiles over the bath!! ( I notice these things). Close to town centre too. Breakfast was wonderful and nothing seemed too much trouble with people mixing and matching the choices.
We would love to return again for a longer stay and hope the standard remains as high. Well done John and Amy.
From Christine and Mark

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time at Gecko's Rest and it was every bit as enjoyable as our first.

The superior top floor room we stay in is more like a very nice hotel than a B&B. Very clean and well appointed with a fantastic view.

Well placed in Newquay and perfect for getting around Cornwall.

The food is excellent and John and Amy are great hosts as always.

See you again next year.

Lee & Jayne.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Shearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

John & Amy are perfect hosts who have thought about everything their guests might want and go out of their way to provide it. Well cooked breakfasts, which you can even eat as a takeaway if you want to beat the crowds to the beach in the morning! A beautiful dining room from which to watch the state of the surf or in which you can eat a takeaway or picnic in the evening and admire the sunset, glasses and crockery provided and washed up for you afterwards; in fine weather you can also do the same from the comfy seats in the garden with the same lovely view. Families will welcome the large lounge with widescreen TV, DVDs, games, toys & books as well as the well equipped spotlessly clean ensuite rooms with TV, free wifi, toiletries, hairdryers etc. Spent four nights here while walking South West Coast Path with a friend and we stayed in a lovely en suite twin room with a big walk in shower; seemed plenty big enough to us but John said it was one of the smaller rooms! Only two minutes walk from the bus station via a footpath, with regular bus services between Padstow and St Agnes make this a perfect base from which walkers, couples, families and surfers can explore the spectacular coastline; only 20 minutes on the bus and you can be away from the crowds in deserted coves and wide sandy bays. Highly recommended for everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have super views of Newquay and the famous surfing bays.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice to see recycling in operation and encouraged and energy saving policies
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The overall experience was excellent.

We have arrived late in the evening and the landlord were perfectly happy and checked us in.

We have booked a sea-view room and it was newly furnished and spotless.

The breakfast was fab too.

Would recommend to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Property: Geckos Rest
Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing