We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the guest house to stay at in Newquay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geckos Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geckos Rest
Ranked #3 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basildon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the guest house to stay at in Newquay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here from 9th to 16th August with my wife and family.The superior room with seaview gave us a stunning view over Newquay Bay and surrounding town. Both this room and the family room were spotless and beds comfortable. Owners John and Amy were disarmingly friendly and the breakfasts were to die for ! I brought a special birthday cake down with us ( in secret from my wife) as it was her 60th birthday during the week, and they kept it safe and out of sight until the day. Such excellent assistance and service. John and Amy have been running the Geckos Rest for just over two years and it's easy to see why they have been receiving such excellent reviews. We now join the list and highly recommend this guest house for visitors seeking comfort, cleanliness and those breakfasts !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benbulbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
159
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay. Amy and john very welcoming and friendly. Felt at ease and comfortable. Room was lovely and very clean. Breakfast fantastic.. nothing too much trouble. Highly recommended, near to the beach and town. We'll definitely be back... Thanks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daznsheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Well what can we say, firstly John and Amy you are both amazing, it really is the little things that count and you've got them and the big things right even giving us extra milks in our room because we'd gone through the ones we had the day before and so we didn't run out again. Clean and well kept everyday (infact I'd love to know how you keep it so clean so I can try at home). Breakfast is amazing nothing is too much and John you memory is brilliant he remembers every guests order from the day before. Thank you soo much for looking after us on our mini break with you we will defiantly be back and will recommend you always.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kezzy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

No other way to describe this place other than 'Spot on!!' John & Amy have this to a 'T' myself and my partner stayed here July 8th until July 11th. We arrived in Newquay early that day to make the most of our time there, we were aware that check in was not until 3:00pm so we wandered around Newquay town, however I received a text message around 12:15pm to say our room was ready and available. On arrival we were greeted by both John and Amy which are the nicest couple and made us feel immediately welcome. We were impressed with the accommodation's set-up, interior deco & relaxed feel. John then directed us to our room (5) and run through the room facilities etc. We were well impressed as the rooms have been recently decorated, new carpet, nice furniture and new shower etc. Having spoken with John later on our stay we were complimenting him on the accommodation and he said if he was honest we had the less nicest room in the house, if this was the case I would love to see the other rooms as our room was very nice and spacious!! This accommodation is well located, there is a path that runs opposite, right down into the centre of town (3-4 min walk). The breakfast in this place is just amazing, you have a variety of popular well known cereals, Fruit, Fruit juice, Tea, Coffee, and a menu of hot breakfast options. The breakfast there would set you up for the day!! the breakfast was cooked fresh for you and brought out very quickly. I would highly recommend Geckos Rest its fresh, modern & nice location, John and Amy were extremely friendly and you honestly felt at home instantly, they were very informative and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!! Note there are only 3 car spaces to the rear and it was stated at the time of booking that spaces are limited, we received an email straight after booking to say that unfortunately there was only parking available for us on the last night of our stay, this was not an issue as we found a space on a side street which leads you to the lane at the rear of Geckos Rest. If you don't secure a space there, there is a large car park right opposite Geckos rest with very cheap tariff for overnight parking. I love the fact your well informed from the time of booking and that if your room is ready early your notified, giving you the option of earlier check in. 10/10 guys, hope to stay there again soon!! All the best Jamie & Donna :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you're looking for somewhere more upmarket and still within a reasonable budget then look no further than Geckos Rest because here you will find it! The room we stayed in was modern and tastefully decorated with lots of little extras which showed how much thought John & Amy have put into their Guest House. The breakfast routine went like clockwork even on days when everyone came down at the same time! The breakfast was cooked to perfection: John's poached eggs could be heading to legendary status but Amy cooks everything else to an equally high standard. The hotel is well situated on Mount Wise so that even when the hotel's private car park is full the public car park opposite only charges a £1 overnight between 6pm and 9am. As a base for touring Cornwall after flying into Newquay Airport it is perfect because you are only at most an hour and a quarter from Land's End, St. Michael's Mount, Looe and Polperro. We would definitely stay here again and will tell our friends to do so also and will make it the first place we look when considering holidaying in Cornwall again.

Room Tip: Sea View if you want it but rooms at back equally good.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a recycling policy and appropriate bins in the kitchen area
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyD43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My son and I stayed at the Geckos Rest for 6 nights and found the guest house to be extremely comfortable in an excellent location. Amy and John were fabulous friendly hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculate, modern and very comfortable, couldn't fault it at all. I would definitely recommend and go back for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Obviously it ticks all the boxes for clean, modern, great location, but here's why I loved it...

1. Perfect poached eggs. Everyday. Marmite for your toast too.
2. Magic Mike, Point Break and Dirty Dancing in the DVD library... (even though we didn't get any time to watch DVDs!)
3. Gecko decorations hidden everywhere, but tastefully done. No darts players wives here.
4. Indoor, clean, wetsuit wash/hang room
5. A full range of people from older couples to young families all made welcome with friendly banter.
6. Wii and Xbox 360 to entertain the kids...
7. John offering people free tickets he's been given the night before
8. Great recommendations of places to go...also John knowing which beach you've been to by the type of sand he's cleaned out of your bath that morning!
9. Best sellers on the bookshelf, not just weird books no one has ever heard of.
10. Amazing views and great weather (although we might just have been lucky on that one :) )

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SummaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckos Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckos Rest

Property: Geckos Rest
Address: 77 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BP, England (Formerly Seventy Seven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geckos Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amy and John would like to welcome you to Geckos Rest. We offer traditional bed and breakfast at our Four Star Silver awarded guest accommodation in Newquay, Cornwall. Geckos Rest is located on Mount Wise, only a 3 minute walk to the town centre and a 5 minute walk to the beach. We aim to be your perfect hosts, offering comfy accommodation and hearty breakfasts, close to the centre of Newquay. All our rooms are en-suite, offer free tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, digital TVs, DVD and have free Wi-Fi internet. We offer superior rooms, classic rooms, double rooms and twin rooms. Some on-site parking is available free, but reservation is required. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with views across the town to the sea. The dining room is available for you to use in the evenings to bring in your takeaway. You are also welcome to relax in the guest lounge looking out to sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geckos Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geckos Rest Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing