We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waves 31”
Review of Waves Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waves Apartments
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at Waves 31, Watergate Bay for 1 week in July. The apartment is excellent. Modern, clean, quiet, very well equipped inc wifi and close to beach. Only complaint is the parking facilities - each apartment has one designated parking place which is pointlessly framed by an open wooden frame arrangement. This, combined with the narrow space available created by concrete curbstones set into the ground (in place of the usual white lines) make it difficult to park and even more difficult to get out of the car. The curbstones also have very sharp corners, and if you get it slightly wrong, as I did, bang (literally) goes a tyre. I later heard from other residents that this is a regularly occurance. In my case it added another £120 (new tyre) to the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rod1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is the 4th apartment that we have had, and, although it is still very good, no 33 feels a little cramped. Waves is a nice block with allocated parking spaces and a lift - all good for those of us with mobility issues. The flats are usually well equipped and clean. Some are Friday change days and some Saturday; some allow pets and others don't; some are sea view (premium priced) and others garden view - take your pick of what suits you. I am on Orange network and don't have a connection issue and the Wi-Fi was perfect. The Sky Sports was great too as the Test match was on!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chatterisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing stay at no 20.Fantastic weather as well! We preferred overlooking the garden rather than the car park and traffic at the front. We opened the French window in the evening to enjoy drinks-very peaceful and no traffic in sight! Apartment very clean, fresh & well equipped with every facility to make a perfect holiday.
We has not been to Watergate Bay since our children were small and it was as beautiful as ever, now with the added advantage of excellent eateries on the doorstep. We will most definitely return and hopefully to no.20.

Room Tip: Stay overlooking the gardens for tranquillity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had an absolutely incredible week in Waves. We stayed in the Penthouse, Number 19 which had incredible views of the Bay.

Would definitely recommend it. Huge living area upstairs and great modern facilities. Sky was a bonus as stayed up to date with the tennis, football and cricket. Balcony is amazing too and we were blessed with some good weather which really topped the trip.

Downstairs, 2 bathrooms with nice bathroom facilities. The mattress was very comfortable and towels etc. supplied was all great quality.

The beach itself is incredible, and considering Watergate is just one Bay, the dining choices are fantastic with Jamie Oliver's, Beach Hut and WGB Hotel on the doorstep.

I guess the only set-back is the need to book early at most of the restaurants as it's such a popular spot these days and demand is huge- we got turned away 2 nights from the beach hut.

For curry fans, the Maharajah I. newquay is too drawer and only a £7 taxi so good option.

Overall a great holiday destination and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieMac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a load of old nonsense. If you can't see that rock you shouldn't be on the road. What if that had been a child or dog. These people should go to Specsavers and get a life, The apartments are absolutely fabulous and so well run. The facilities are great and so clean. Watergate bay is a dream with it's beautiful beach and fantastic cliffs. Great walks and fun times.
We've been coming for years and always find so much to do. A visit to St Mawgan and the bonsai nursery and Japanese gardens. Don't forget to have a cream tea behind the post office.
Just 20 minutes away is Bedruthan Steps with the fantastic rock pools and caves.
We also pop across to Fowey for a day just 45 minutes in the car.
And for a change we take the bus to Padstow. The bus stops right outside Waves Apartments.
We are going back next month. Can't wait.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but sea views best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A very strong 4/5 score here - literally the only downside is that you don't have a sea view which is why it is not a 5. The price was also good for Newquay in the new year.

The apartment is stylishly decorated with all the mod cons you could ever want (dishwasher, washing machine, two TV's, DVD player and some classic DVD's, under-floor heating, a modern bathroom and more!).

Its in a great location for Newquay with its bustling nightlife and interesting shops, and Padstow for that more traditional Cornish feel and the are the bars and restaurants in Watergate bay (Fifteen, Watergate hotel etc..).

You are a two minute walk from the beach and coastal walks in every direction.

I would thoroughly recommend this apartment to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had two weeks in waves apartments as watergate bay. On arrival in the car park we scraped all of our car down the side of a large boulder which is very poorly visible from the drivers seat on entry to the car park. This happened to 6 other people while we were there.

The owners of the appartment complex were really rude and unhelpful and said it was bad driving that caused it. It caused 1300 pounds of damage to our car. I took lots of photo evidence of the damage and poor visibility of the boulder and the owners refused to take any responsibility. They insisted the boulder was there to stop people parking even though there is a key coded entry to the car park which should stop that. They won't do any thing about it despite it is clearly a persistent problem to holiday makers that pay a lot of money to stop in the appartments.

If you like your car and want a hassle free holiday DO NOT stop on these apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loushaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachcombers Apartments
Beachcombers Apartments
#33 of 79 in Newquay
149 reviews
2.9 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
3.1 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#21 of 79 in Newquay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Apartments

Address: | Watergate Bay, Newquay, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Waves Apartments Hotel Newquay
Waves Apartments Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing