We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, make sure you book”

The Fish House - Fistral
Ranked #3 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small seafood restaurant,with fantastic views of fistral beach, serving the freshest fish and shellfish, crab and lobster directly from Newquay harbour, with a very reasonably priced menu.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, make sure you book”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Fish House is a small but clearly very popular restaurant with spectacular views over Fistral Beach. We only managed to get in when another booking cancelled, and we appreciated the manager's help in making that work. The quality of the food was really excellent - we enjoyed mussels, bass, fresh grilled sardines and the stir-fried half crab which was a very interactive and messy experience. Highly recommended and you should probably book in advance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    102
    25
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family run restaurant with beautiful sea view and fabulous food!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We loved our visits to the Fish House on Fistral Beach, Newquay. The first night we just had drinks on the terrace which over looks the sea and is a lovely spot to watch the sun go down. It's family run with a lovely relaxed atmosphere and superb food cooked from an open kitchen by the owner Paul Harwood, formerly a Rick Stein chef. Our meal on our second visit was delightful and the staff great - really enthusiastic and supportive of the Harwood family.
We can't wait to return and have recommended to others - a very special evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corinnehartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Superb view, watched the sun setting in a clean, intimate restaurant with a lovely laid back atmosphere.
Service was good, menu not extensive but from my perspective still plenty of choice and the food was excellent. My husband and I went with two friends and we all enjoyed it. The only reason I did not give it a five star rating was because I had to help myself to a dessert menu. That said, at least we weren't rushed through our meal. Great evening, thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had just arrived on holiday in Newquay and were still getting our bearings when we read up on this place. The reviews seemed great so we thought we would give it a try. I would recommend booking ahead as the place is small and very popular. The choice of sea food was really inventive and thought though, the head chef seems quite the perfectionist. The drinks on offer really compliment the food well, as do the level of attention to detail the staff give! We really felt very welcome and it made a great start to our holiday. What a brilliant place and a lovely setting, perfect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went to The Fish House whilst on holiday in Newquay. Although fully booked when we initially enquired, we managed to get a table later on in the week. A small and simple setting with amazing views over Fistral bay. The sun was setting during our visit which just added to the great atmosphere. The menu offered a good selection of locally caught fish, a burger option and steak option... although we didn't even consider those. There were also several specials on the board. A number of dishes had an Asian influence. The puddings menu that followed also didn't disappoint. 3 courses each and a bottle of wine was £80. Everything was perfectly cooked and well worth the money. My husband would definitely have the crab again!
Overall we would recommend The Fish House and look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaughan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish House - Fistral also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Fish House - Fistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing