We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Open plan spacious living area
Open plan living area showing exposed beams and stunning log burner
Modern kitchen showing breakfast bar with beautiful granite worktops
Modern kitchen with all the necessities
Oak dining table and chairs
Log burner and large Freeview TV
Living room with large corner sofa to make you feel instantly at home
Stairs to upper floor open plan living space
Master king size bedroom
View to en-suite in master king room
Twin/super king bedroom
Family bathroom with power shower
Watergate Bay
Mawgan Porth
Leet Meadow - middle lake
Headweir - top lake
Longmoor - bottom lake
Padstow
The Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Moggycat9...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were two couples who were visiting friends nearby and really enjoyed our stay. We found the barn to be really well laid out - the open plan kitchen / living area is particularly well done, especially with the wood burner. Although it was blowing a gale outside, we were really cosy and warm. The beds and sofa are all really comfy and the shower was great. We had our friends over with their little boy one evening and there was plenty of space for all of us to socialise and play with the little one. The kitchen is well equipped too with a dishwasher and washing machine and the owners leave a few tea bags/hot choc sachets which is a nice touch. They were also very helpful at advising us about the local area and eating out - we went to one of their recommendations, The Travellers pub nearby and they went above and beyond catering for my diet so couldn't be happier. Only thing I can think of that would improve the barn would be to have an additional mirror in the en-suite bathroom as there was only one which was in the main bathroom. And there was no wi-fi, but that was actually quite nice as we weren't on our phones all the time! And the owners said they are getting that soon. Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living area and the cosy feel of the barn
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering...
Fowey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Barn in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have recently returned from an amazing weekend at Penvose Farm. We stayed in Mowhay Barn which was truly wonderful, it was immaculate and spacious with a lovely ambience, coupled with a fab BBQ for summer evenings. We all had the best nights sleep in a long time!

Ann and her husband were so friendly and helpful. They also invited our son to feed the lambs, which he loved. The children's play area went down well, all set in an idyllic location, close to beaches and local attractions. We would highly recommend Penvose Farm, a really relaxing break. We will definitely return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere of staying at the farm
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jethro W
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Newquay”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Probably the best farm getaway in Cornwall. If you are travelling in a big group and are looking for a comfortable place to stay, this is it! Amazing hosts who are very friendly and responsive. The interior of this home blew me away, it was splendid.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minxy1984
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn and lovely owners”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

To the point. My friends and I had a weekend stay here in Feb 2015 the barn was stunning, we all said we would love our houses to be as cosey! The barn had everything you need even down to a few dishwasher tablets (it's the little things). The barn was clean and comfy. The little baby lambs would roam around the car park area which was lovely. The owners were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place to everyone, whether it be familys, couples or friends. I speak on behalf of five other ladies too (ages 29-31).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
1 review
“Fantastic family weekend in a beautiful barn with very welcoming owners!”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just come back from a weekend here with our 4 and 1 year old. We had a wonderful time, the barn is of a very high standard and beautifully done. It was so warm and cosy and we immediately felt like we were on holiday! The fact that we were on the farm was so exciting for the kids, the owners were so welcoming and let us go and see the newborn lambs and my son was even allowed to feed one a bottle. The barn is just a short drive to beaches and Newquay which is ideal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiffExete...
exeter
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed for a three night break beautiful barn conversion all mod cons fully equipped kitchen, lovely bedrooms ,beautifully decorated cleaned to a high standard we had a lovely relaxing break with three kids . They loved the freedom, great place for kids. Watergate bay nearby is a lovely small beach Newquay a short drive away . Friendly owners we will definitely return !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klajH
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful barn highly recommend”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Mowhay Barn at Penvose Farm over the Valentines weekend and would highly recommend it to both couples and families alike. Beautifully decorated and finished to a very high standard with all modern amenities, oven, microwave, dishwasher etc Perfectly clean, still fairly new so everything is in perfect order. Lovely and cosy in the evenings with the log burner on. Would easily cater for groups of up to 7, would be perfect for a girly getaway weekend too! Brilliant location, just a short walk from watergate bay, 5 mins drive from Newquay, 20 mins drive from Padstow. Absolutely loved our stay and will return, highly recommend, you won't be disappointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing