We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable & clean, lovely friendly owners.”
other travellers have booked this property
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe King size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe
King size bedroom
Shower room
Large power shower
Modern kitchen with beautiful granite worktops
Modern fitted kitchen with slimline dishwasher
Oak dining table and chairs
Living space
Watergate Bay
Mawgan Porth
Leet meadow - middle lake
Headweir - top lake
Longmoor bottom lake
Padstow
The Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie P
Twickenhaml United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable & clean, lovely friendly owners.”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Although we were a little taken back by all the building work going on when we arrived once we were in the barn it was very quiet & as we stayed over the weekend were not disturbed by any building noise. The barn is lovely & we were very spoilt with having a TV in the bedroom too ! The owners are delightful & very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: The building work going on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabooyou
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleased Swallow barn has been done to a high standard we rate it 10/10”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in the swallow barn at Penvose farm it is family run the owners was very welcoming and friendly. We didn't arrive to early hours of Saturday morning they left our barn unlocked so we could gain access with no fuss and get our heads down then we checked in that morning. The barn is done to a high standard, was very clean and had everything that we needed. Newquay town is about 15 mins drive away cost us about 15 - 18 pounds for a taxi on an evening which I thought was pretty reasonable we would deffinatley go back again we was also shown round the bigger barn too that sleeps 6/7 that was lovely and we will deffinatley be booking that in the near future. Only thing I found I couldn't get a signal much on my phone but again it wasn't a problem soon got one away from the barn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good standard of the barn, Been made to feel very welcome
Liked least: Probably the distance bit out of way but it didn't cause us a problem it wouldn't stop us going back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon. I will also check the wifi connection in the barn.
Kind regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny,Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenJCh
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A cosy and lovely new converted barn”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival, we registered our car and were shown around the little cottage. Very welcoming and my boyfriend and I were supplied with everything we needed. T
he bed was soft which we aren't use to, however it was very comfy and cosy! The shower was amazing, so powerful and easily adjustable.
It has been carefully thought about and is very good quality furniture and utilities.
We made our breakfasts each morning (mainly porridge and scrambled egg), and cooked once in the evening. It is a little difficult with both of us cooking in the kitchen but doable as just limited worktop space.
The sun hits the cottage at the perfect spot right where you can sit and hav a BBQ and park the car. As we have done a lot of surfing, it's a perfect spot to place the wet clothes and hang them up on a rack.
It is a 15 minute drive to the beach and town. Parking can be free if you find the right side roads. It is also a nice place to cycle from on the roads, beware lots of hills!

All in all, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shower, heating, decor, bedroom space, quietness
Liked least: On the small side downstairs but not a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promtly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Holiday, great location!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Swallows Barn in July 2015 and what can i say, its lovely and very friendly.

We were made to feel very welcome the moment we checked in, very clean and well equipped for a relaxing self catering holiday.

Great location to explode all of Cornwall and we would happily stay there again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Swallows barn.So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
271rachel...
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean, well decorated and very well equipped”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is without a doubt the best modern barn conversion I've ever stayed in.
Located on a farm a couple of minutes drive away from Watergate Bay and 4 miles from Newquay town centre it made the perfect quiet location as well as being close to all the major attractions, it was easy to find and very accessible
Upon arrival everything was extremely clean, the owners were incredibly friendly and recommended ideas for attractions we may wish to visit and told us of the local events taking place the weekend we arrived. We also found a leaflet pack in the ban which gave us plenty of ideas for places to visit around the area, all were excellent places to visit as we went to as many as possible!
The barn was well equipped with all the necessary kitchen utensils and the barbecue was easy to use.
The decoration was brilliant particularly the modern log burner in the sitting room which was an excellent addition and is perfect for nights in.
No disturbances or noise at all from planes or animals. You're guaranteed an excellent nights sleep
A spectacular place to visit and we'd definitely go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and decoration of the property
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promply. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you both again very soon.
Kind regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny and Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niklovegr...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the second time we have stayed at Swallows barn this year, again we had a fantastic week! Always greeted with friendly faces that are only too happy to help you in any way. The barn is beautiful, so much thought gone into its design and decor. It is immaculately clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The shower is amazing! Lovely to have the outside patio and bbq area and the log burner is lovely on a chilly evening. Penvose farm is situated within a 5 minute drive of watergate bay and is close to the town and lots of lovely restaurants. The perfect location! We will definitely be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Really glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for leaving a review and we hope to welcome you back again some time soon.
Kind regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing holiday in our favourite holiday destination”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great holiday beautiful accomodation, all furnishings good quality and everything you need to make your holiday. When we arrived we were greeted very warmly by Anne one of the owners who made us feel very welcome. The farm is in a good location ideal for beaches and lots of interesting places to visit. The barn is in the farm yard so we enjoyed the great views over the countryside and watching the comings and goings of the sheep in the fields. All in all we enjoyed our holiday very much and our accommodation was first class. Look forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing