We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“totally awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“totally awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

the service was very good, some one there to meet you straight away, very kind and friendly and always like to join you for a game of pool! the location was great not right in the centre so you dont get all the drunks walking past but literarily a 1 minute walk till you in the centre by all the shops/clubs and right by the 2 beaches great for surfing and only about 20 minutes walk from fistral beach. the hotel its self was good! there was always some one to talk to at the bar and meet new people , the seating areas were always very clean and the pool table was a added bonus. so if its raining or have nothing to do then spending your time in there meeting new people or just lounging around seeing as theres always people in there until it closes at 4am! the rooms there self were okay the beds were very comfortable and clean bedding. the rooms which had on suites were clean but the showers arnt that great as they dont have much water pressure but apart from that they were nice! and the floor bathrooms which had two toilets and a shower in they were great! the shower in there was really good and secure so you knew no-one could get in and stayed are the right heat, the have a good priced restaurant but i didn't go in but the chef was very funny and made everyone feel at home!
the escape is a very good place to stay if you like interacting with people but if youre just going to say in your room most of the time then its not as some of them were a bit small but other rooms were massive. its amazing there and im defiantly going back year and i would recommend it to anyone whos up for a good time!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    42
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

I thought the escape was perfect for what we needed for a stag doo! And the location was ideal as it was only a 2 minute walk to the first bar and 3 minutes to the beach! It's ideal for large groups who are likely to offend people when they are drunk because pretty much everyone there was of the same mind set! However if you think you get value for money you don't! The rooms are cramped and only one bathroom beyween 14 was no good! Not that clean either! If you want somewhere to stay and your not in a group go to travellodge for same money! £5 in taxi and your in town! You'll definately sleep better!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffhead6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed at the escape for 3 nights .. 2 girls. Brilliant location and atmosphere, if u want quiet then maybe not the best place as with big groups coming in late in the evenings/mornings it won't be. Good sized room, clean bathroom too, only complaint was only one for the four plug sockets worked. Would def recommend to mates as ticked all the boxes for stumbling home after a few too many :) thanks escape for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0sebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Its exactly what it says on the tin. The place was full to the brim with stag parties and football tours etc but it was a good light heated atmosphere with no trouble. The bar is reasonably priced and the on site Thai restaurant was lovely.
I personally think the 37.50 a night per person is a little high for what you get. We had a room that fitted 14 in the form of bunk beds, a 6 person room with 2 treble bunk beds so not for the faint hearted and the rooms are very basic. That said and done, it was exactly what we needed. The place it is, nothing you can do will offend anyone and the staff have seen it all before.
The manager Gerry is an absolute gem, if he was anymore laid back he'd be horizontal.
It was a great stay and all 29 in our party had no complaints. I would definitely recommend this for big groups of lads or lasses. I would say just be open minded and expect the night life to be very cock heavy (24 men to 1 women. A recent survey reported)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedromctreebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just came back from this hotel we arrived fri 15th july there were 22 of us had such a ball,the staff were very polite def come back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

If only these ratings could go higher it would certainly be at the top of my favourite places to stay
The atmosphere of the whole place is just amazing and the staff are so friendly and always have a story to tell which will always keep you smiling
The food there is also brilliant. The best curry I've ever tasted
In my opinion there is no better
place to stay in Newquay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camerooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Just back from the most amazing Hen weekend, I'm still smiling at all the fab memories!! The staff at the hotel were awesome, a humongous thanks to Tom, Rory and Deano for making our weekend a complete blast, especially Saturday night!!! I'm just sorry we didn't get a chance to meet Gerry, next time! It was fun and laughter all the way and our dancing feet didn't stop moving until the wee hours!!!

Finally this is for Tom - "last night a DJ saved my life, last night a DJ saved my life yeah......."

Thanks again, we shall be back for sure!!

1/7th of the Virgin Crew x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinstrap59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#22 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 74 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Property: The Escape
Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing