We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simon Brown's Stag Do”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simon Brown's Stag Do”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

From the moment you step into the Escape you are welcomed by Gerry, a friendly chap who looks like Grant Mitchell..

We were given keys and shown to the rooms.
The rooms were brilliant, fresh bedding and linen, lovely views of the sea and pretty spacious.

Really only used for a resting spot to sleep and get ready so to have all what you need in one room for 5 people was superb.

Restaurant was great, friendly, new, clean and the staff were very helpful.

Great little bar area decent priced drinks, pool table and continuous music on offer... cant grumble

Not far to walk to shops, beach and nightclubs. everything in one place.

Only downside is the parking space, try to avoid if you need to go in and out every day as you will need to call other owners to move the cars.

Happy with the weekend stay, cant complain about anything. Recommend it for groups on stag doos or parties or lads weekends away, didnt see much on the female side but im sure many have stayed there.

Room Tip: book in advance for a nice top floor room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robino3269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    42
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

me and 28 other cardiff lads had a weekend of our lifes, not one of us had a bad word to say about the Escape,it was ideal for us, gerry and his staff were awesome,the bar was open till 4am which we took advantage of :),the rooms were basic but but very clean what more do you need,the breakfast was really nice just what you need in the morning and we also tried the thai food and for £10 each you cant go wrong, i as the stag couldnt of asked for better and will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: dont miss out on this place!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Great Thai food, really easygoing vibe about the place. Facilities are basic, and only 2 showers to a 16 man room, but what do you expect?

Staff are very friendly, and its 5 mins from the high street, very enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Fantastic all round venue, nice bar area with pool table and delicious restaraunt food.gerry and naom our hosts were extremely friendly and couldnt do more to help aswell as being a great laugh.highly reccommend the escape,very cheap aswell.myself and all the lads on the stag would consider no other place if we came back to newquay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_wright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This hostel was a great place to stay in Newquay. The staff are all really nice and accommodate in any way that they can, the bar stays open until 5 :) the restaurant has really nice food and a awesome chef, and it is in a great location not far from the beach at all. Recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlouise6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Great place to stay, Great Host who could not do enough for you. When you are out until the early hours you need a good Breakfast and at £4.00 that is good. The Owner and his partner make you feel very welcome. If you want a safe good place to stay that is Superb Value this is the place for you. It was my son's stag do and I am 63. but I was looked after, Well Done the Escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at the escape for 2 night and 3 days. There were 20 lads staying in the Escape we all had an amazing weekend it must have been one of the best places we have stayed at. The guys and girls at the Escape made it so easy for use. On the Saturday night we all had a Thai green curry and I have spoke to all the lads that went and they all say it was probably the best curry we have ever had. And trust me we eat a lot of cirrus. I personally could not believe how cheep the the beer was thanks again Gerry we will defo see u again top weekend mate thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampton1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 75 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Property: The Escape
Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing