We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend!”
Review of The Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hostel was brilliant. It was exactly what we needed for this group weekend away for 12 of us!
On maps it looks far away from everything but it was only a 5 minute walk to the beach and central - which is where all the clubs are. Same as the beach!
Gerry was so helpful and made sure we were all OK! Honestly couldn't have asked for a nicer owner/manager. Our bathroom and floor of our room was cleaned every day!
I didn't spend much time in the bar bit of the place, but when I did the drinks were cheap and there was a great atmosphere! You could also pick the music you wanted on!
The only tricky thing was the car parking. You have to leave your name and number in the car in case it needs to be moved but again Gerry was amazing and even moved our cars for us when needed!

Room Tip: Rooms 20-24 are the largest rooms but not in the immediate hotel building which was really nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my friend becca, rang up and spoke to Gerry (manager) who was extremely helpful and friendly to book our stay. When we arrived we was greeted by Trevor and Jamie who also work here and have made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are basic but perfect for what we were looking for. The cleanliness of the place is outstanding. The bar is awesome with a great sound system and cheap drinks which is always a plus! :) i would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone who is planing on staying in Newquay. The hostel is also only a 5 min walk into the town center which is perfect.

Thanks guys for making us welcome!
Gemma & Becca
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was one of the most amazing youth hostel. We had the idea that it would not be as good as we thought because we are 17 and would not be able to go clubbing. That aside the people that work here make your time worthwhile. Not only are the prices good, the staff are so helpful. Jamie was a good laugh and just the chilled sort of guy. Always asking if you're okay or hows your time going, great guy to have a chat to and have a good time. Roberto was so funny, always around to have a good laugh too, in the middle of the night he was outside just talking and chatting to everyone. Gerry the owner is a genuinely good hearted guy. We arrived a day earlier and provided a room for us to sleep in free of charge just to make sure we stay safe. Trevor was a good help in organising making sure everything was running sweet. Overall, just such a great place to visit and chill out! Come here!

Room Tip: biggest rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maliaka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A group of eleven of us stayed this weekend just gone and we had a brilliant weekend. The rooms are slightly small but it's excellent value for money and in a prime location a minutes walk from the town. The staff are all very friendly in particular the owner Gerry who couldn't do enough for us and was very welcoming and made our weekend a great one! Drinks in bar are brilliant too very cheap! Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilysavin425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked the Escape after trawling through many of the reviews for accommodation in Newqauy for a stag group. Upon first contact it was clear Gerry & Tim would be able to cater for everything we were looking for and then some. The booking process was simple and the owner Gerry made every effort to stay in touch as the weekend away grew closer.

I was keen to ensure there were activities in place for the weekend which i was able to book via the hotel, the surfing was great fun and definitely a hangover curer!! We also managed to do some Jet skiing which again was fantastic and a must try activity, with the Newquay swell the Skis were airborne with no effort what so ever.

We also decided to take Gerry up on his offer of a Thai meal at the hotel on the Saturday night, cooked by the in house Thai chef. This was absolutely fantastic served within a restaurant which was clean, bright and very modern.

Newquay its self was a fantastic Town with some excellent entertainment full of friendly locals and holiday makers alike.

All in all i would highly recommend this hotel the only caveat would be that the rooms are basic, however i don’t go away to sit in a room and it was quiet at night when it was time to get some rest.

I would not hesitate to book again if for nothing else but the hearty breakfasts in the morning which are a must!!!

Thanks for having us and I look forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: Above i have said the noise is loud however as i mentioned earlier it is set in a quiet location for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been here for 3 days and everything was lovely. the people who are working here were very helpful and very very friendly all the time. i would recommend for everyone . the place was lovely . we had a very nice time and definitely wanna come back again ! we had BBQ here and we all of us come from hungary so we were making some gulyas what was very popular :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrienn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I came to Newquay on my own for the first time and chose this hostel (first time in a hostel too) as it looked like fun- the website most certainly doesn't lie! The cheap bar with pool table and great sound system make it the perfect place for pre-drinks or for a bash all together! The location is spot on, 5 minutes walk from Newquay train station and 5/10 mins walk from all of the towns shops, bars, clubs and beaches. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and never made all of my questions seem like a hindrance. If you are looking for a good time with good people (and good prices!) then The Escape is your ticket!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallulkaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape

Address: 1 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: £37 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Escape 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Hotel Newquay is a new type of Budget Surf Lodge that holds 150 people with wicked facilities and really friendly vibe run by young people for young people. Wifi is available and free parking.The rooms are mostly en-suite and the beds are in a bunk style. The Bar has a late residential licence open most nights till 4 am with pool table and a Bose sound system. Stag & Hen parties, same sex groups & under 18's are all welcome. We organize activities such as surfing, coasteering and go karting.The premises also hosts its own Thai Restaurant and take-away called "The Bird" offering traditional Thai cruisine cooked by Noam our chef all the way from Koh Lanta, Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Escape Hotel Newquay
The Escape Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing