We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lakeside Apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gannel Estuary
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Gannel Estuary
Overlooking the lake
100 yards from the apartment
Apartment Layout
Sunset over Newquay Bay
Balcony at Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Coastal59...
1 review
“Great location and plenty of space but...”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This apartment was, as described, really spacious and had a fantastic outlook over the lake. We enjoyed strolling over the road to hire a boat on sunny afternoons. There was a children's play park within walking distance as well as a café and free museum very nearby.

The apartment has been finished to a high standard but I might question the level of maintenance as it was damp smelling and feeling, and it was pretty grubby on arrival. Not the best way to start a holiday with 4 children (2 babies) - having to do cleaning.

On arrival both toilet seats were broken and the kitchen tap was hanging off, however on contacting the owner he did send a plumber round to fix everything within a couple of days.

Cooking equipment and dining chairs provided were not sufficient for a family of 8 (i.e there were only 6 chairs!) However we used steps and patio furniture and fortunately packed cooking pots etc so we managed.

The location is not far from the centre of Newquay and we appreciated the on site parking.
Overall it wasn't what we expected after reading the other glowing reviews, but we did have a lovely holiday .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dampness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
We acknowledge that there was unfortunately a problem with the toilet seats - which had apparently worked a bit loose -which we arranged to be dealt with as quickly as we could. However we are obviously concerned with the other comments. Anyone reading this review might be confused with the comments compared with the other 9 reviews. However I would point out that the guests may have a different outlook on things that the average holiday maker. They actually sent us a picture of a wardrobe door that wasn't closing properly: it was about 1/8 of an inch out! It is also an £800 John Lewis wardrobe. Another picture followed of the washing machine 'on' switch that is slightly off centre - most people wouldn't even notice, the machine is one year old and works perfectly well by the way. I think any reader of this review might already get the picture! Strangely for people with such high standards these guests apparently left the apartment in a very poor state , the worst our cleaner has seen in many years ( e.g. rotting food under the bed ) and didn't even have the courtesy to leave by the stipulated time thereby making it difficult for the housekeeper to get it ready in time for the next guests who we had to slightly delay. I hope any potential guests will not be put off by this review for what is a large apartment, with a 40 foot balcony in a lovely spot overlooking the lake. It is also one of the cheapest in the area of it's size and less than many caravans of a similar size.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut1...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing home from home ”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this apartment. Modern, spacious and a great location. Very reasonable price too. John & Sue were always available for any questions both before and during our stay. The guide/welcome pack that they provide in the apartment was really useful. Apartment has WiFi, fully equipped kitchen, plenty of parking and you can walk into Newquay in about 15 mins. Already thinking about booking again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you for your nice review. We hope you do book again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spend a week in this really spaceous appartment, situated next to a lake., not far away from the beach. My doughter enjoyed to go surfing and we made a lot of trips. We all hope to come back next year.
Many thanks!

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thanks for the nice comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57pink180...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had seen this apartment whilst staying close by on a previous visit to Newquay.
We booked for 2 weeks and we found it very comfortable with everything you need,tumble dryer was a great bonus.
Enjoyed it so much that we have booked another 2 weeks next year,the owners were very helpful and very quick to reply to any questions.
We had a very relaxing fortnight and already counting down for our next holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Glad you liked and have booked again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArfurSixp...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed for two weeks in this apartment - WOW! I didn't want to come home and that's a first! The apartment is gorgeous, clean, modern, spacious and has everything you could possibly need - even a TV in every room (apart from the bathroom.) Already booked for next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
Thank your great review and for your repeat booking for next year. We appreciate when people confirm what we already think about the apartment and can't wait for our next visit ourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
827jeanne...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful apartment in a fantastic setting.”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in this beautiful apartment for a week in July. The apartment has everything you need for your stay. It's 3 bedrooms are spacious, very well appointed and are so pretty. The bathroom is as good as you would have at home..as is the en suite. The Kitchen has all you need to cook a meal if you feel like a night in. There is a gas BBQ on the balcony that we made use of a couple of times. A fantastic balcony with the sun on it all day long, and the view over the boating lake.
I can't recommend this apartment highly enough...perfect .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very spacious . Fantastic balcony.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
1 review
“Highly recommend this apartment loved it so much will be going again next year”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Modern spacious apartment great location close to everything you need at a great price, booking for two weeks next time we loved it that much.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thanks for your nice comments and look forward to you coming again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing