We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Thai Restaurant

Lotus Thai Restaurant
Ranked #174 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$41 - US$41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our family had a really nice meal, reasonably priced. Quite crowded by the time we left, which is surely a good sign. No complaints, would definitely return if ever again in this part of the world.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than last time but still not as good as it used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We've been here many times now over the years. It used to be fantastic food and a great busy atmosphere. Over the last two visits we've noticed it get quieter and the food not quite as good. This visit was better than last time, but I still think it's lost it's edge.

That being said we've visited Thailand a couple of time over the last few years so maybe our expectations of authentic Thai food has been artificially raised.

We had a good selection of food and it all tasted nice. Nothing outstanding but certainly all perfectly acceptable. The service was fast and efficient as it usually is. The waitresses we're smiley as normal too.

I'd imagine most people will be very happy with the food here. And I'm certain we'll be back, if only in the hopes that it regains its former glory.

I'd say it's more of a 3.5 now not 4, but average seems a bit mean so I'll stick with a 4.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Took my Brother in law out for a meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

As usual very good food, served in plesant surroundings, by plesant ladies.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVELY THAI FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Grea little restaurant that does take-away delivery too. Use it often and would really recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CJRNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrible service and medicore food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This restaurant was suggested by the owner of the B&B that we were staying in when we mentioned that we liked Thai food.

When we arrived there were only 3 other couples in the restaurant and we were sat in the corner. It took them 20 minutes to take our order. The starters then arrived quickly but the squid tempura was oily and the corn cakes were not very nice.

They then served our main course which was not very nice and they served the wrong curry to my wife., To add insult to injury my wife then found a hair in our coconut rice.

Unfortunately this is the worst thai restaurant we have ever visited.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing