We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous flavours!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Thai Restaurant

Lotus Thai Restaurant
Ranked #174 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$41 - US$41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous flavours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ordered a Penang Curry, a little wary of my foreign foods so asked what it was like, given a brief description from the waitress who assured me it wasn't too hot. Gorgeous flavours and plenty of it!! Friendly staff, defiantly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoEyNaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the west”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We go here regularly as we have a holiday home in Newquay. The food was great service good and value for money excellent. Take away is good with 20% off. What is good is it is very clean. Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marchinglobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I Visit this restaurant quite often, the food is always great, and the service friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manolo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our family had a really nice meal, reasonably priced. Quite crowded by the time we left, which is surely a good sign. No complaints, would definitely return if ever again in this part of the world.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than last time but still not as good as it used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We've been here many times now over the years. It used to be fantastic food and a great busy atmosphere. Over the last two visits we've noticed it get quieter and the food not quite as good. This visit was better than last time, but I still think it's lost it's edge.

That being said we've visited Thailand a couple of time over the last few years so maybe our expectations of authentic Thai food has been artificially raised.

We had a good selection of food and it all tasted nice. Nothing outstanding but certainly all perfectly acceptable. The service was fast and efficient as it usually is. The waitresses we're smiley as normal too.

I'd imagine most people will be very happy with the food here. And I'm certain we'll be back, if only in the hopes that it regains its former glory.

I'd say it's more of a 3.5 now not 4, but average seems a bit mean so I'll stick with a 4.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lotus Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing