We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #26 of 233 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious cream tea”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely harbour side bar/restaurant. Very friendly service with reasonably priced meals/snacks. The cream teas are £4.50 each with a mug of tea and 2 scones, clotted cream and jam.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    145
    42
    34
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic selection of fish”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited The Boathouse three times in a three day stay in Newquay. Once during the day for a coffee and twice for an evening meal. The Boathouse is in a lovely position right on the harbour so a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. We booked an evening meal and had a wonderful meal. We're not particularly fishy but found the choice of meals excellent and really enjoyed our meals. Soups were excellent (carrot and coriander, and crab bisque) followed by two pasta and fish dishes. We enjoyed it so much we went back the following evening having found it difficult to find any where else that looked as good. Next evening we went for the fish and chips which again was excellent. Service too was very good, friendly and attentive staff. We'll worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seafood heaven”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We sat outside on a table by the harbour and watched the sun set and the tide go out, the perfect setting for a lovely meal. Food superb, service excellent. I look forward to returning here next year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Mostly good news”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location on the harbour, so plenty to look at from the terrace. Unfortunately, when we arrived hoping to eat on the terrace, we were told that they weren't serving outside. Marvelous. How difficult is it to arrange that? It seems a bit daft to have a gret terrace and not to allow diners to use it.
However, indoors the setting is pleasant and the service ok. The menu is a bit limited and the signature seafood platters are very expensive indeed. A suggestion: do a seafood platter without lobster and make it affordable.
However, what we did order was delicious (urbot on garlic mash with samphire).
I should imagine that it gets very busy in peak season, so it might be worth booking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cns259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow, what a meal !”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had dinner at the Boathouse on Saturday night. We had a seafood platter for our Main Course and it was so very tasty, our starters were wonderful too. The service was first class. Amy was a great waitress, we weren't hurried at all and spent a really enjoyable evening there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NTandCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing