We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquarius Guest House
Ranked #30 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just got back from our fantastic weekend in Newquay where we had the pleasure of staying at Aquarius. 

When we booked we were skeptical as the price was very low compared with a lot of places we looked at but we were pleasantly surprised to find that Aquarius is fantastic value! Sarah the owner is wonderfully warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble (I'd suggest that people who have written otherwise in ther reviews must live their lives petrified of going outside for fear that everyone is going to be mean to them). Breakfast was amazing! Full English is usually standard fare but when you couple some of Sarah's homemade jams into the equation things take a fantastic turn!
Rooms are fine. Only used them for sleeping in and they were fine for that. If I was the kind if person who spent a summer holiday entirely in their room I might have got cabin fever. I guess parking can be tight but there are diagrams dotted around showing you the best way to park... Also a massive free car park literally across the road. 
Aquarius is walking distance to everything in Newquay and also on the bus route. 
As I said I was pleasantly surprised all thing considered. We got B&B accommodation... In Newquay... In summer... For cheap... And it was AMAZING!

Thankyou Sarah for your hospitality! Give Mr Pip (the dog... As advertised) a cuddle for us!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGongGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    24
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
44
57
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stopped at the Aquarius Guest House last weekend with a party of 5. Rooms are basic and clean, just what you need for a long weekend stay. However we all found the host to be rude at times and quite abrasive, not what you need to be enjoying a holiday. The last day of breakfast I also found that on the toast, that was put on the table, had mould on it, which further decreased my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We found the Aquarius not to be as the reviews we had read said...... The lounge furniture has seen better days, décor is dated, very tight parking, very loud clock in room, bright early morning wake up as skylight in ceiling had no blind or way of covering it over to enable you to sleep after sunrise , booked family room with spa bath and was given family room with shower which wasn't in the best condition, strange lighting (ceiling lights on walls), bathroom to small to enable closing the door when sitting on the toilet (if u didn't want to have a door crammed against your knees), limited storage space/no shelf, bathroom/room smelt very strongly of cleaning products/air fresheners (not in a nice way), overall not our standard/taste........very tacky. That's without having to dodge the two piles of dogs mess on the drive in the morning to get to the car in order to leave. Sorry Sarah you seem like a nice lady but we wont be back, one night at the aquarius B&B is one night too many for us, we would rather have spent the £90. elsewhere

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaandPaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Having just returned home from a three night stay with my three children, i wanted to say what a lovely and welcoming place the "Aquarius B&B " is. Everything from the warm welcome from Sarah to how comfortable the beds were and the great breakfasts. We will definatley be booking again. One last thing...... the home made jams were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 463stevenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Booked room at 6.18am and at 4pm arrived to a very warm welcome from Sarah, who owns the B&B.

The room was clean and spacious, with en-suite facilities, TV/freeview, mini fridge, comfy bed and tea/coffee-making facilities.

Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, and includes Sarah’s home-made jams and marmalades, which she makes in her ‘spare’ time and are available to purchase.

Good location – town and beaches within easy walking distance.

Sarah is a super host and a very interesting person to talk with.

I highly recommend Aquarius for your stay in Newquay. Hope to return soon.

I even left with some jars of Sarah’s home-made marmalade.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CossackMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

You get what you pay for £75 per night family room will def stop at travel lodge next time
Dogs cats. The breakfast done in micro greesey the only good thing was the bed was soft and that had two matresses on .the parking is very tight Then we stoped in a caravan at hendra holiday park fantastic time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millie0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah r, Owner at Aquarius Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Sorry to hear you felt this way.My website states that I have A DOG & A CAT. It also states that I am pet friendly so therefore you might expect (maybe) other visitors to have a dog. The only food microwaved is baked beans. I do not have any oil in this house and even eggs are scrambled, poached or boiled. H|ave you heard of mattress toppers? If people park considerately, we can accommodate up to 9 cars and alternately as there is a free massive car park opposite us. Travel Lodge would probably be your best bet in future, however after calling them, it will set you back £84 and thats without food and you will also have to pay for parking, and just a warning, on their website it states that you will hear outside noise.
At least your weather was good.
Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Have just returned from staying here for 3 nights with my partner. Lovely room, great food and welcoming owner. Sarah very helpful and makes wonderful jams and chutneys! Would highly recommend to friends and family. Close to the town and beaches all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Jasmine House
Jasmine House
#19 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.7 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#2 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westward Bed and Breakfast
Westward Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cove Guesthouse
The Cove Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pinelodge
Pinelodge
#23 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Tees Hotel
The Three Tees Hotel
#21 of 105 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Guest House

Property: Aquarius Guest House
Address: 29 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquarius is the perfect place to stay whilst visiting Cornwall for a holiday or on business.A warm welcome waiting for youIt’s a family run B&B just minutes from the bustling Newquay town centre and beautiful beaches – making it easy to enjoy the sand and surf and famous nightlife. It’s also the perfect base to enjoy the hundreds of attractions and breathtaking scenery to be found throughout the rest of Cornwall.With so much going on in and around Newquay, it can be difficult to know what to do, so to make it easier we’ve included information and some helpful links on our attractions page.We have six large bedrooms – each can sleep up to four adults. All have their own bathroom and come equipped with a TV and coffee/tea making facilities.Four rooms can be found on the ground floor of the house, with a further one upstairs. The sixth room is in an annex with a separate entrance.Residents also have the use of our comfortable family lounge with free-view as well as the sun lounge as well as free wi-fi. An iron and a hairdryer are available on request.On arrival, you will be given your own set of keys to come and go as you please with no time restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aquarius Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing