We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquarius Guest House
Ranked #32 of 105 Newquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at BnB For 2 nights, Sarah was welcoming when we arrived late, first impressions of our room were reserved, however it was clean, good shower, spacious and comfortable. Sarah cooks a great breakfast and her homemade jam is wonderful! Location is brilliant, close to fabulous beaches and newquay town centre with bars and clubs is 10 minute walk. Overall this is a lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiantha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    24
    2
    6
    9
See reviews for
49
57
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

So I thought I'd take my girlfriend for a weekend away to celebrate her birthday and with the forecast good, Newquay came up trumps. Found this B&B on late rooms with good reviews and for £50 a night. We arrived on Friday afternoon and was greeted by Sarah, the owner. She was very polite and welcoming. She housed us in the annex eventhough I booked the room at the top of the B&B but that was fine. However this is where the nightmare began. After dropping our cases off and immediately exploring Newquay town we came back to the annex in the evening, to discover a white smear situated on the purple bed throw, a fecal pebble dash in the toilet and various lengths of hair on the bed sheet. This B&B allows dogs to stay but that is no excuse for the hair in the bed. I can only imagine what that smear was but would think the previous couple had a 'good time'! And the pebble dash in the toilet - well that was the cherry on top. I complained to Sarah and showed her the issues, she gave some excuses but obviously weren't acceptable. She asked us if we wanted to move rooms or leave - not surprising we left instantly! For some people the hygiene would have been acceptable, but not for us. And for £50 a night, no chance. My advice AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. The Travelodge in the town centre with a stunning sea view is cheaper and clean! All I am doing writing this review is being 100% honest.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hardcorehead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome from Sarah. The room was nice and tidy with plenty off space. Free wifi. Easy walking distance to town centre. Weather was horrendous but I slept amazingly well and had a lovely breakfast. Could find nothing to complain about in this friendly place. Thanks Sarah.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Sarah made us feel so welcome. Cleanliness second to none. Breakfast options real value for money. Come and go as you please. Value for money, no complaints from us. Little touches such as dressing gowns n slippers, fridge in room, hair dryer in room. Lovely en suite with bath (shower would be nice but not essential) would put some 5 star hotels to shame. My only criticism. ...maybe a better blind at the attic window? Thanx for a lovely stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I originally booked in for one night and was greeted on arrival by Sarah (a lovely lady who instantly made me feel at home). I was shown to an excellent room with large en-suite bathroom. The room was clean, bright, well furnished and very private. The next morning, after a splendid real Cornish breakfast including home made jams and marmalade, I booked up for three more nights and then a full week and then extended my stay still further. The rate was very competitive, and the friendly atmosphere made my stay really enjoyable. I would recommend Aquarius to anyone. I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses. They are very rarely this good - a real gem.

John

Room Tip: There are a number of good rooms. Mine was Number 2 (upstairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiat_Panda_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We went here for the weekend. We were welcomed as soon as we got to the door by the owner Sarah. She was lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was nice and we had a great weekend. Shame the weather was awful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metricdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a lovely little guest house to stay at in Newquay it was for myself and Ozzy my dog.
On arrival Sarah put us in a large room with access to the rear garden so that Ozzy could go for to the loo easily . It was nice that she thought of the dog too as a guest in here Guesthouse .
The room was large clean and full of all the amenities you would expect , also the free wifi was a god send for me to be able to carry on working in the evenings.
Breakfast was a full English with plenty on Orange Juice provided , and Christmas Morning arrived to find a Christmas card for me and Ozzy
Can not fault this place at all ... for cleanliness , friendliness and a home from home its a 10 out of 10 from me and Oz

Will definatly see you again Sarah and will also order some jams and preserves !

Many thanks...Kev

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.0 mi away
Jasmine House
Jasmine House
#18 of 105 in Newquay
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tregella Guest House Newquay
1.0 mi away
Degembris Farmhouse
Degembris Farmhouse
#14 of 77 in Newquay
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summer Breeze
Summer Breeze
#43 of 105 in Newquay
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
St.Bernards Guesthouse
St.Bernards Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Newquay
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
the quies
the quies
#6 of 105 in Newquay
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Guest House

Property: Aquarius Guest House
Address: 29 Henver Road, Newquay TR7 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquarius is the perfect place to stay whilst visiting Cornwall for a holiday or on business.A warm welcome waiting for youIt’s a family run B&B just minutes from the bustling Newquay town centre and beautiful beaches – making it easy to enjoy the sand and surf and famous nightlife. It’s also the perfect base to enjoy the hundreds of attractions and breathtaking scenery to be found throughout the rest of Cornwall.With so much going on in and around Newquay, it can be difficult to know what to do, so to make it easier we’ve included information and some helpful links on our attractions page.We have six large bedrooms – each can sleep up to four adults. All have their own bathroom and come equipped with a TV and coffee/tea making facilities.Four rooms can be found on the ground floor of the house, with a further one upstairs. The sixth room is in an annex with a separate entrance.Residents also have the use of our comfortable family lounge with free-view as well as the sun lounge as well as free wi-fi. An iron and a hairdryer are available on request.On arrival, you will be given your own set of keys to come and go as you please with no time restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquarius Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing