We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Island Surf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef Island Surf Lodge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modern and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed at the lodge for 5 days and there was 6 of us. On arrival we thought we had booked the Penthouse but it didn't say we was so there was confusion there.
Our room had 3 bunk beds, tv and a hi-fi. There was no wardrobes so we were living from our cases. The Bathroom had a shower which you had to push a button in every 20 seconds which was annoying. The Hotel itself was modern with uv lights and mini tv's on the wall showing Viva. The bar was only open on the weekend so we did not use it. There was a card operated wet room for wet suits and surf boards at the back of the hotel.
The Lodge was just off the main high street and 5 minute walk from Berties night club. The lodge was right next to the beach aswell so great location.
The only bad point of the lodge was you could not drink alcohol or eat hot food in the room. Also, each person has to pay £30 each as a deposit in case something is broken which is understandable.
Overall, the lodge is good and comfortable in a great location. Would go back next year but would make sure we had the penthouse.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    5
    10
    18
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Would completely rate this hostel - the rooms were so clean and posh! The bar was so trendy, I felt like I was in a hip part of London - surprised there wasn't a guest list to get in! haha. Would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff - they were all amazing, friendly, welcoming and helpful. I haven't got a bad thing to say about the Reef lodge - you guys rock! Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluff_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just got home after spending a great weekend in Newquay at the Reef Island surf lodge.I have travelled heaps of places in the world and stayed in many backpackers and surf lodges...but nothing as trendy, and posh as this lodge.(the comfiest beds ever!!)I felt like a high class backpacker!! :) It is bar none the cleanest and poshest lodge Ive ever stayed in, The staff are exceptionally kind, helpful and willing to go the extra mile for anyone staying there. Its reall cool how they are from Oz, Canada and the UK and are all world travellers and surfers so they really really understand what people expect and are looking for when they stay at the lodge. Nothing better than waking up with a clear view of the beach and ocean out the window. They hooked us girls up with a wicked surf lesson with some hot instuctors at their surf school which is always a bonus for a bunch of single backpackers!! If Im ever back in Newquay again I will without a doubt stay at the Reef Island lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed at Reef Island and everythinig about it was amazing!!When we arrived the girls at reception were so friendly and helpful.The room were like new and the bathrooms were super clean and shiny.There wasa great atmosphere in the bar (and throughout the lodge)all weekend.Really REALLY enjoyed our stay at reef island.the girls were amazing and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is going to Newquay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveiepevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

well reef island you ve done it again (my second visit and a third on the cards) good clean accomadation friendly and politestaff willing to go the extra mile although hard working the staff always had time to answer any questions I had and lots of time and suggestions as to where to go and what to see They even had time for the rude and demanding customers dealing with themcalmly and professionaly

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We did not expect anything more from the lodge's description. The room was comfortable for 4 persons, clean and good value for money.
The staff of the lodge, a young lady in the reception area, the only staff member we saw while there was not friendly at all.
The accommodation was booked online and the reservation quoted for "GBP30 deposit on arrival". It did not state that this amount was per person. Back at the reception we were asked for GBP30 per person. We can understand why this amount of money is asked but the staff member was not really interested in listening to us. We just simply suggested they change what they state in the booking and we said it twice. Her response was simply "If you don't like that, then don't stay with us again".
Concluding, the lodge has nothing bad, but the staff member that assisted us was rude and made us feel unwelcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

edinburugh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Came to newquay for new years, my mates back home rave about the place so thought id test the water myself... Let me tell you best decision i ever made!.. Newquay rocks at new year.
Absolutely everyone was in fancy dress, with some real creative costumes. that atmosphere was just off the wall! with the entire town filled at midnight.
Stayed at the reef surf lodge which was awsome,
there were some rules you had to abide by but seems to be the same as anywhere i stay lately. the rooms were slick, just what us boys needed! location was rad, see you next year you sexy ladies. cant wait for another massive night in newquay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#3 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Haven Guest House
Blue Haven Guest House
#49 of 112 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Island Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Island Surf Lodge

Property: Reef Island Surf Lodge
Address: 30-32 Island Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Surf Island Lodge is predominantly made up of a mixture of bunk rooms ranging from 3 bunks up to 9 bunks per room, some rooms have a sea view. Alongside the bunk rooms we also have a Penthouse at the top of the lodge, offering great sea views both in the lounge and the master bedroom. The Penthouse can sleep up to 7 people and consists of a master bedroom (can be set up as a twin or double), a double sofa bed, a double bunk room and also a single sofa bed. The Penthouse also has a large shower room with two showers. There is also a studio apartment at the rear of the property, with it's own private access. The studio apartment consists of a sofa bed, kitchenette and private shower room / toilet. There is free WIFI for all guests. The lodge is the perfect location for staying in Newquay, it is centrally located and approximately 200 yards from the main town beach - Towan Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef Island Surf Hotel Newquay
Reef Island Surf Newquay
Reef Island Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing