We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£50
Expedia.com
£59
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£52
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
14
7
4
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
7
4
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Massive thanks to Daisy. We didn't arrive until late & she took the time to call me and leave the key for us. Also thank you to Simona for answering my constant emails!!! We had a lovely weekend away. Weather wasn't great but still able to get out & about. Lovely beach & great location. We'd recommend the bar central - had a great night in there!! Our room was clean and adequate but on the downside a few things were missing which would have made a big difference. For example a full length mirror as the one in the bathroom not enough - too small and light underneath didn't work. Nowhere to hang clothes. There rarely seemed to be anyone on reception to ask any questions you may have. I would recommend this place to surfers as its a fab location.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nikkimat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Nikkimat68,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we have taken your comments on board. We value all feedback from our guests to improve our services and facilities and we have taken your comments on board. We hope you will come and stay with us again and see the many improvements we are making to our lodge! Thank you again for your valuable review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We lived on our holiday with my girlfriend in this nice place. Good location in 2 minutes walking to the ocean, Towan beach, beautiful place with amazing sunsets. Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast. Some problems with parking place.
Nice place for stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sergey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Sergey,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your kind review!
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile


Clean house, fresh and good repair, modern design, very friendly staff. Everything is on top!
The weather was sunny and a surfing was very well, I enjoyed beautiful views.

l think I will be back to the lodge.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MarinaJ1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We value all feedback from our guests to improve our services and facilities in the future. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our stay so great! We hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your kind review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from our trip to Newquay. We booked into Reef Island slightly last minute, although we were a little concerned having only ever stayed in b&bs/apartments / hotels we were both really happy with the choice we'd made.

We originally showed up at the sister site and were told to drive down. This lodge is practically on the beach and so close to the bars, clubs and high street (but still far enough so you're not disturbed by noise in the early hours of the morning!). You really can't complain about the location. Parking was a different matter as it's a residential area but we were lucky enough to find a space on our third trip around.

Our triple room was just big enough for the two of us, the size of the en suite was great - two girls getting ready you NEED space! The shower was definitely better than expected and cleaner than some hotels I've stayed in! We had a cd player / radio in our room and a tv which was good for some entertainment while we were getting ready.
The bunk beds were actually very comfortable too.

Staff at Reef Island were fantastic, always ready to help if something needed fixing or just to ask about local restaurants or bars. They really helped us out - thanks guys really appreciated it 😊

I'd be more than happy to stay here again. Just remember it's a SURF LODGE don't go in expecting a 5* hotel. It is basic but clean, at the end of the day it's a room to sleep in and have a shower.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank yasminj901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reef S, General Manager at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Hi Yasmin J. Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay.

Both Reef Surf Lodge and Reef Surf Island have recently been taken over by a new General Manager (Myself). We have made some changes to both lodges and strive to achieve the ultimate levels in cleanliness and guest satisfaction so thank you for your feedback.

We will aim to continue to keep standards high and hope that we can welcome yourself and your friends again soon.

Kind regards,

Kelly & the team at Reef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews