We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£50
Expedia.com
£59
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£52
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
14
7
4
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
7
4
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

room was nice no lock on toilet door only a few curtains we had the penthouse and the noise at 3.00 am till 8.00 am was terrible didnt get no sleep at all 2nd night was better but still awoke by guys out side the hotlel its a shame cause its a very clean place but run by polish so that let lots of young stay so not for a famliy...

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank banjophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Banjophil,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and we have taken your comments on board. Unfortunately, while we can control the noise from within the hostel to the best of our ability, we can not control noise on the main road. Newquay is a popular location for parties and due to our central location we do ask our guests to make that a consideration when booking with us. We're not sure why anyone's nationality is relevant in a review about a hostel, however we can confirm that the owners are not Polish, which is irrelevant either way. We have staff from England, Ireland, Belgium, Latvia, Lithuania and Spain and are proud to be a diverse team that speak many languages and welcome guests from all nationalities. If that is a difficulty for you, then I would suggest that Reef Island Lodge may not meet your needs in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the reef surf lodge for 4 nights. The positive things about this place were excellent location and staff were friendly. However, there were a few problems, if you are driving parking is a nightmare we ended up having to use a local pay as you go car park. The room was extremely hot as we were on the top floor, no lift which was fine for us but if you were elderly that would be a problem. The room was a lot smaller than I expected, the photos make it look a lot bigger. They said they would change the towels after 3 days ( which is a long time to use the same towel we thought) but they didn’t change them at all. This is basically an adequate hostel and we found it a bit pricey for what we actually got.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 569eilishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Eilish,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We value all feedback from our guests to improve our services and facilities in the future. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff! We're sorry to hear that you had problems with parking however, we do advertise before you book that we do not offer parking on our premises and that is a consideration that must be made by the guest alone. We also advertise that we do not have a lift and that our housekeeping is limited. Our staff are always happy to help with luggage for anyone that has difficulty with the stairs at any time. We do advertise that the room is freshened up, every three days however if you want anything before then our guests are more than welcome to come to reception for extra towels, tea/coffee, linen etc. all free of charge. We encourage all our guests to ask a member of staff if they have any queries or concerns during their stay and we are happy to resolve any issues where possible. Thank you again for your review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Clean rooms

Basic facilities

Friendly enough staff

Catering was below average but we didn’t really mind as it’s not the sort of place and we just ate out

Parking is a nightmare though - good luck finding anywhere on the adjacent streets

Most of us used the manor car park - it’s free over night - and walked the 3 mins or so to lodge

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear MJH1,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and visit us again very soon. Thank you again for your valuable review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve had a brilliant weekend staying here

Our kids loved the bunk beds and also the breakfast was very child friendly but also good coffee for the adults!

WiFi was excellent for evenings in the room with our iPad

The whole place was clean and very welcoming

Staff always on hand to help and all in all for the price you couldn’t ask for any more

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 51deanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Dean,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your kind review!
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Massive thanks to Daisy. We didn't arrive until late & she took the time to call me and leave the key for us. Also thank you to Simona for answering my constant emails!!! We had a lovely weekend away. Weather wasn't great but still able to get out & about. Lovely beach & great location. We'd recommend the bar central - had a great night in there!! Our room was clean and adequate but on the downside a few things were missing which would have made a big difference. For example a full length mirror as the one in the bathroom not enough - too small and light underneath didn't work. Nowhere to hang clothes. There rarely seemed to be anyone on reception to ask any questions you may have. I would recommend this place to surfers as its a fab location.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nikkimat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Surf N, Reception team at Reef Island Lodge & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Nikkimat68,
Thank you for staying with Reef Island Lodge and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we have taken your comments on board. We value all feedback from our guests to improve our services and facilities and we have taken your comments on board. We hope you will come and stay with us again and see the many improvements we are making to our lodge! Thank you again for your valuable review.
Kind regards,
Reef Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews