We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Brillant Stay”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #56 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Brillant Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived in Penzance on Wednesday to be part of the Golowan festival for the 3rd year. Have been to restaurant before but never stayed at the hotel. The hotel was having new windows fitted when we arrived, which we was told was following the winter storms, our were changed the following day we arrived, and what a beautiful view we had. Have read some comments on TA asking the owners to spend some money on the place (well they have), felt a bit sorry for the staff having it all going on in a busy week. But we had numerous conversations explaining the reasons and have seen some of the videos of the storms.

But everything was completed in time for the festival weekend, and all we can say is what a great time we had, never experienced such an atmosphere with the live music on a stage in the car park of the hotel opposite the sea, 3 days of great fun. Don't know how they do it but was told it is normal for the hotel to stage these events. Staff were outstanding even with the huge amount of people at the place, only negative thing I could say is that they may need an additional toilet when there is so many people and some areas do need updating but looks like it happening. Restaurant has changed since we last eat here and looks good, and was surprised at the prices of the drinks for a hotel, one of the cheapest we had seen.

We are thinking about coming back in the winter to experience the difference in conditions but hope the town doesn't get what happened earlier in the year.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, great views. Eat in the restaurant or try the outside grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Golowan celebrations were embraced by you, arriving at this time of year can be a bit of a shock for some of our guests as the town is completely buzzing with over 35,000 extra bodies attending the carnival celebrations. We are one of the main music venues during the Golowan festival and we seem to be getting more & more popular each year, the music finishes at 12 midnight so hopefully most of our guests enjoy it without losinbg too much beauty sleep. We are as you say updating our hotel bedrooms and this is a work in progress as soon as we earn money we put it back into the refurbishment - we hope to see you again next year or even over the Autumn/Christmas period, look out for our special deals on our website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    50
    29
    38
    35
See reviews for
50
78
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place is soooooo out dated it has to be seen to be believed! The wll paper was falling off the ceiling, no hot water at 7am or at 7pm! It is a comedian's dream joke about british sea side hotels from he 60's or 70's. The only thing that comes to mind is "Faulty Towers" only it's not funny when you've paid good money to stay there.
The food was O.K. but over priced, it was clean, the location REALLY IS the best thing about the place.
This placed is so run down. (eg: wallpaper falling off ceilings, ill laid carpets, and furniture that falls apart). My advice "don't waste your time and well earned money"
Could not sleep brcause of sea gulls squarking.

Room Tip: don't bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, with regards to the lack of hot water this was for approximately 1 hour in the evening as the boiler over-ride button had responded to a short power cut, so no guests were without water for too long. We are in the middle of refurbishing the hotel as we were hit very badly by the storms in February, this we advertised on both our website front page & face-book, in the hope that our guests would understand, with regards to your comments about the seagulls being too noisy, I am sure that you can see that there is nothing we can do about that! Perhaps a break near the sea is not for you if you find the seagulls a nuisance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not a great place at all. Very old fashioned and it desperate need of an overhaul. Old threadbare carpets, rotten windows etc. The room was enormous and the ensuite clean but really not up to modern standards. Our room was also at the back and there was a noisy air con unit right outside which buzzed loudly all night; the single glazing did nothing to shut out the sound. It also stank throughout of stale cigarette smoke. The one redeeming feature is that it is in a good location, right on the seafront.

Room Tip: The triple room at the back is huge but the noisy air con unit outside makes it unsuitable for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeking only the best
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We love the staff and the location but, sadly we had a room that so needed refurbishing. The public areas are fine. The food was good. It is the rooms. New windows, carpets, showers and just about everything. However, we will return but, ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Do not got for a back room as the noise from the kitchen was loud. Pay more for a Seaview with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldiehawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Its a bit pricey for the facilities that it offers..The hotel is quite old and rooms clearly reflects the age. They have kept it clean though and all the towels and bed are very clean. Location is about 10mins walk from the station and is very near to the high street.
Breakfast and other items are priced high. Had to spent 5 pounds for a small bowl of fruit salad.
The best part is the staff. They are really friendly and answers any questions that you have without showing any discomfort.

So overall its not a bad place to stay for a short break in Penzance.

Room Tip: Call them before you book and ask about the room and other discount options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on the 18/04 with the family, unfortunately.
The room was overall very bad, with old settings, with bad smell and completely run down, the carpet was so dirty that I just couldn't stay without shoes on to give and idea.
The bed and towels were clean and the staff was friendly.
Certainly won't stay there again.




Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jicaborga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location cannot be faulted however, this must be the only justification for the price. Some of the money could do with being invested on the place and maybe some staff training would be a good idea.
Whilst I don't expect staff to have attended charm school, basic manners and a smile now and again, would be the minimum you would expect.
The place is a bit dated and in need of some serious TLC however, given the current financial climate I can accept that not much can be done.
Having read other reviews, it would seem the 'birds nest' is the room of legend.
The constant 'drain' smell can be minimised by putting the plug in both bath and sink.
The restaurant could do with a basic clean in some areas as it would appear it has been neglected over months as cobwebs could be seen.
Fire doors that are supposed to be kept closed are pegged open.
Was disappointed to find that certain breakfast items were limited to full fat milk, butter and white bread.
Staff were even late one morning to make breakfast whilst we were waiting in the foyer for them to arrive. This is something I can accept as accidents happen, but the incident just sums the place up.
Disco nights are advertised on flyers for the hotel (nothing wrong with that) and 'lads' eating burgers and chips with a pint outside are regular fixtures.
All in all, the location is great however the hotel's basic standards fall well below the minimum expected for such a high price that is charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fergus_Dudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#61 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#69 of 82 in Penzance
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#46 of 82 in Penzance
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: The Promenade 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing