We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover for Isle of Scilly”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #55 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stopover for Isle of Scilly”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed over for one night prior to catching the Isles Of Scilly ferry. We had 2 rooms 18 & 9. Both did what we needed them to and provided us with somewhere to put our heads overnight. Room 9 is the honeymoon suite (we got upgraded! Yay!) and has very impressive views and is really spacious. There were only a few minor niggles in that the bay window curtains did not close all the way so privacy and lighting was a slight issue. There was no hairdryer in the room and it was incredibly warm (although the hotel cannot be held to account for the lovely heatwave we are having) - the one big issue I had was that the bed was not very comfy and also very noisy/creaky but as we only stayed over for one night and slept in the bed for all of 8 hours it wasn't too bad. Breakfast cooked by the lovely man (sorry did not note name) was a perfect start to our trip to the IOS and his hospitality and fab full English was a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 9 but hopefully the bed will be replaced
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel we are pleased that you enjoyed your one night stay, and we note your comments, some of which are being implemented at the end of this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    52
    30
    38
    35
See reviews for
55
78
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

One review I read said it's not trying to be the Ritz. Whilst that is true, it does have a Fawlty Towers feel about it. It's not awful but is just very outdated. I stayed in room 1 which was a double. It was en-suite and had a decent enough shower. Sink was outside the shower/toilet room though on a sort of full wall length kitchen worktop. I'd say the room was clean but a bit shabby with poor/outdated decor. Just outside the room window there seemed to be some sort of air conditioning unit which was pretty noisy at night. Hotel Wi-Fi seemed very poor too, never worked in room and could only get it to work in the bar/restaurant area. Could not fault the service though, very friendly welcome, a nice breakfast with polite and attentive service and friendly at the bar too. Location is excellent, very central and on the seafront. Hotel has parking but no marked bays so you have to hope that others park sensibly. It's also free to park on the promenade out front. Overall, I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton for what I paid and the website pictures do clearly show that the rooms/decor are a bit old fashioned, I just think my room, which isn't pictured, was poorer than those shown. I have stayed in much nicer B&B's/guesthouses in other areas of Cornwall for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simeone_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, we note your comments with regards to your room being in need of an update, we are slowly refurbishing the hotel and have been very busy revamping some of the hotel bedrooms as well as the restaurant & bars, this you may have noticed during your stay with us, room 1 is on our list of rooms to be redecorated and updated, we hope that you will revisit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Lugger does not pretend to be 'The Ritz'. It is not meant to be but it offers agreat place to stay. The windows had all been replaced as we arrived and our romm (14, on the front) was fresh and spotlessly clean. The en-suite, albeit small, was also well kept. The staff were very friendly at a very busy time (the Penzance festival ws on while we were there) and the food was excellent. Theonly comment, and this may have been corrected, is that, with full length windows overlooking the promenade, some net curtains could be useful!!

Room Tip: If you are at all unsteady, do not choose the top floor, although the views are best from here. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we note your comments with regards to some voile or net curtains for our front facing sea view windows and this is something which we will be looking into for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Arrived in Penzance on Wednesday to be part of the Golowan festival for the 3rd year. Have been to restaurant before but never stayed at the hotel. The hotel was having new windows fitted when we arrived, which we was told was following the winter storms, our were changed the following day we arrived, and what a beautiful view we had. Have read some comments on TA asking the owners to spend some money on the place (well they have), felt a bit sorry for the staff having it all going on in a busy week. But we had numerous conversations explaining the reasons and have seen some of the videos of the storms.

But everything was completed in time for the festival weekend, and all we can say is what a great time we had, never experienced such an atmosphere with the live music on a stage in the car park of the hotel opposite the sea, 3 days of great fun. Don't know how they do it but was told it is normal for the hotel to stage these events. Staff were outstanding even with the huge amount of people at the place, only negative thing I could say is that they may need an additional toilet when there is so many people and some areas do need updating but looks like it happening. Restaurant has changed since we last eat here and looks good, and was surprised at the prices of the drinks for a hotel, one of the cheapest we had seen.

We are thinking about coming back in the winter to experience the difference in conditions but hope the town doesn't get what happened earlier in the year.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, great views. Eat in the restaurant or try the outside grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Golowan celebrations were embraced by you, arriving at this time of year can be a bit of a shock for some of our guests as the town is completely buzzing with over 35,000 extra bodies attending the carnival celebrations. We are one of the main music venues during the Golowan festival and we seem to be getting more & more popular each year, the music finishes at 12 midnight so hopefully most of our guests enjoy it without losinbg too much beauty sleep. We are as you say updating our hotel bedrooms and this is a work in progress as soon as we earn money we put it back into the refurbishment - we hope to see you again next year or even over the Autumn/Christmas period, look out for our special deals on our website!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place is soooooo out dated it has to be seen to be believed! The wll paper was falling off the ceiling, no hot water at 7am or at 7pm! It is a comedian's dream joke about british sea side hotels from he 60's or 70's. The only thing that comes to mind is "Faulty Towers" only it's not funny when you've paid good money to stay there.
The food was O.K. but over priced, it was clean, the location REALLY IS the best thing about the place.
This placed is so run down. (eg: wallpaper falling off ceilings, ill laid carpets, and furniture that falls apart). My advice "don't waste your time and well earned money"
Could not sleep brcause of sea gulls squarking.

Room Tip: don't bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugger H, Guest Relations Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for completing a review of our hotel we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, with regards to the lack of hot water this was for approximately 1 hour in the evening as the boiler over-ride button had responded to a short power cut, so no guests were without water for too long. We are in the middle of refurbishing the hotel as we were hit very badly by the storms in February, this we advertised on both our website front page & face-book, in the hope that our guests would understand, with regards to your comments about the seagulls being too noisy, I am sure that you can see that there is nothing we can do about that! Perhaps a break near the sea is not for you if you find the seagulls a nuisance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not a great place at all. Very old fashioned and it desperate need of an overhaul. Old threadbare carpets, rotten windows etc. The room was enormous and the ensuite clean but really not up to modern standards. Our room was also at the back and there was a noisy air con unit right outside which buzzed loudly all night; the single glazing did nothing to shut out the sound. It also stank throughout of stale cigarette smoke. The one redeeming feature is that it is in a good location, right on the seafront.

Room Tip: The triple room at the back is huge but the noisy air con unit outside makes it unsuitable for sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeking only the best
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We love the staff and the location but, sadly we had a room that so needed refurbishing. The public areas are fine. The food was good. It is the rooms. New windows, carpets, showers and just about everything. However, we will return but, ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Do not got for a back room as the noise from the kitchen was loud. Pay more for a Seaview with the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldiehawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#60 of 83 in Penzance
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 83 in Penzance
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#69 of 83 in Penzance
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 83 in Penzance
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#33 of 83 in Penzance
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: The Promenade 3 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lugger Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Penzance
The Lugger Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing