We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!”
Review of Glencree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glencree House
Ranked #3 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2013

After reading a lot of great reviews about this place we were curious to check it out - and especially the freshly cooked breakfast ;-) Well, we were not disappointed. AT ALL!
Glencree is definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed at. It's easy to find, located nearby the prommenade and with a bus stop almost right in front of the door.
We had a spacious room with lots of light and lovely decoration, a little piece of chocolate on the bed every day and everything you could wish for.
Lynsey and Andrew are two easy-going, yet very attentive hosts who will make your stay as comfortable as possible.
THANKS SO MUCH for a fantastically relaxing week in Penzance - and that salmon breakfast dish rules!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffi1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Glencree in April and found it to be a first-rate B&B. Andrew was a wonderful host and gave us good tips of were to go and eat while we were in the area. We found his suggestions very helpful. The full English breakfast was great also. Glencree House is in a good location to see the sites of this part of Cornwall.
We will stay here should we ever get back to this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8000gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at Glencree House for a week based on a friend's recommendation and it was great. Andrew looked after us brilliantly with plenty of advice on what to do in the area and a hearty breakfast each morning. The room was cosy, clean and met all of our needs for a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here as we had read the great reviews, Andrew was very helpful and I think that is really important when you go away, but our bathroom had been added into the bedroom and you could hear everything going on in the bathroom so not ideal, I had to ask for top ups for shampoo and shower cream everytime, and one day our bedroom was totally forgotten about cleaning wise, and they didnt seem too bothered.

The breakfast were very nice, although we asked for fried bread and was told 'we dont have a deep fat fryer'.

I nearly didn't put this review on after reading the others, but would want to know if I was thinking of stopping here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthamptonSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My friends and I stayed at Glencree House for 3D2N during Oct and it was a wonderful experience! Lynsey and Andrew are very friendly and they made us feel really at home. The bedroom and dining room is very beautiful, the breakfast is delicious! If we do visit Penzance again, we will surely stay there again.

Amy, Jolyn & Shermaine

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank swissdolphin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Glencree House for one night while hiking the South West Cornwall walk in October 2012. We highly recommend it as this was by far the best B&B over our week’s walk. Excellent room with special touch to make one feels welcome and comfortable (e.g., high quality linen and towels, large room, etc.), excellent breakfast with freshness to accommodate health conscious travelers, and Andrew and Lynsey and their little boy were so welcoming and warm. This happened to be our last day of our walk and we are very grateful to our hosts to have made it so special and by giving us good advice to enjoy Penzance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob-Lucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My husband, his parents and I stayed at Glencree House for a night in early October and the stay was lovely. Andrew and Lynsey were lovely hosts, friendly and accommodating since my husband's parents are vegetarian. The breakfast was yummy too. The only gripe I had was that our room was really cold at night as the heating was switched off. But other than that we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Make sure the windows are shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GNK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beachfield
The Beachfield
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 82 in Penzance
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#6 of 82 in Penzance
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree House

Address: 2 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £88 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glencree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Glencree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencree House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing