We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”
Review of Glencree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glencree House
Ranked #3 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The location was great. Near centre but very quiet, and parking on the street was easy. We even managed to get a spot right outside. Andrew is a wonderful helpful host and the breakfast was excellent. Room was in the attic and the bathroom was quite small, but who needs a big bathroom when you are only staying overnight?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a great stay at Glencree on our way to the Isles of Scilly. We had two children under two in tow and Andrew was super welcoming and friendly, even rearranging the furniture for us! Perfect place if you have small children.

Room Tip: First floor front room is nice and large enough for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you love a B&B, this place is tops! My mother and I stayed here while in Cornwall and enjoyed our stay so much. The personal touch is what makes Glencree House stand out. Andrew consistently went above and beyond to help us - giving us printed maps of the town, writing out postal codes for our GPS, suggesting places for drinks as well as meals, carrying our bags up and down the steps, etc. It was like having a good friend watching out for you, something I especially appreciate while abroad and uncertain of what to do/where to go/directions.

In addition, our room was fairly spacious, we had our own bathroom that had lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower, and the breakfast was exceptionally good. Loved the local jams, organic apple juice, and other little special things they offer. Truly a great experience and highly recommend to those staying in Penzance!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

As a young couple, we wanted to stay somewhere special for our holiday down to Penzance, and we chose Glencree House. It was absolutely amazing, we had a VERY warm welcome by Andrew and offered to take our bags for us until our room was ready.

The room was very clean and layed out very nicely, the complimentary teas and coffees provided were lovely, and the toiletries were lovely.

Breakfast was outstanding, we had a lot of different choices to pick from, I would highly recommend the traditional breakfast or the salmon! Another nice thing about the breakfast was that pretty much all of it was local produce, which was really yummy!

There are lots of local restaurants which can be visited, we absolutely loved the Thai Moon restaurant which is about 3 minutes walk from the guest house. Penzance is also not too far from St. Ives, which is also a lovely place to visit.

All in all, we were extremely impressed and happy about everything at Glencree House and we hope to go back one day!

Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A welcoming and spacious guest house situated close to the sea front just behind Alexandra Grounds, Glencree House is an outstanding option that lives up to its well-deserved reputation. Tastefully furnished in contemporary styles with a wide selection of breakfast options on offer there is something to suit even the most discerning guest. I arrived early and was able to leave my bag (which was later taken to my room)...I was also offered information on the local area and assistance in planning a day trip, all of which was reliable and came in very useful.

With an emphasis on sustainable sourcing a range of local products are used including fresh produce and handy toiletries that don't come out of all the usual packets. There's a real sense of luxury with fine attention to detail in every respect (a selection of teas in the hospitality tray and extra toiletries not usually found in other establishments)...The room that I stayed in was beautifully furnished and all in all I had a really comfortable stay.

I would suggest that other guest houses have much to learn from this place...With a professional and friendly service coupled with an innovative approach to running an environmentally responsible business Glencree House has earned a 5 star write-up from this delighted customer. Outstanding in all departments and highly recommended :).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived after a long drive and Andrew very kindly came and helped with our bags, we had a wonderful stay and I'm sure we will be back. In a lovely quiet location and a short leisurely walk into Penzance, our room was excellent and the breakfast first class. Just right to set you up for the day, we would certainly recommend a stay here as a pleasure with such wonderful people. We had a double room and a sea view what more could anyone ask for!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank REDart1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed at Glencree House as a result of a referral from the US guidebook series by Rick Steves that said tha t this was a good B and B that also did not allow dogs--a strong selling point to me as I can't be around dogs. I would note that this is not the closest B and B for railway travelers as it is close to the edge of town but this is relative as the taxi ride is relatively short. The owner was very welcoming and also very accommodating of my need for an early departure as my purpose for traveling to the area was to ride branch railway lines and had to meet someone who came down to Cornwall by sleeper train.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank reisert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beachfield
The Beachfield
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 82 in Penzance
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#6 of 82 in Penzance
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree House

Address: 2 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £88 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glencree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glencree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencree House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing