We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Glencree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glencree House
Ranked #3 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2013

At the beginning of August, I stayed for 3 nights at Glencree House with my mother and although I thought it a bit far from the train station, we were very pleased to receive such a nice greeting from Andrew and an excellent accomodation. We had the double room with ensuite on the top floor not facing the sea which we didn't mind at all as we really wanted a good night's sleep and not the noise from the street.

The breakfast is really as good as everybody else says. Every day I tried a different one and I can't really decide which was the best. They were all delicious. Andrew was very helpful to give tips what to do in the area. Like seeing St Michael's Mount or go on the Explorer bus. The next bus stop is just round the corner and from there the bus takes you all around West Cornwall. Very good!
The city centre is just 5min away if you short cut up the hill and through the park. We had a wonderful stay at Glencree House and do recommend it!

All the best to you and your family, Andrew!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

My teenage son and I stayed at the Glencree for 5 nights. We were made to feel very welcome upon our arrival, even though we'd arrived just after breakfast, during their busiest time. The Glencree is homely, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrew and Lyndsey. We opted for a packed lunch for my son everyday which was always ready when we needed to leave for the day. The family room which we stayed was very spacious, clean, bright and the bedding was very clean and fresh. The breakfasts were prepared fresh every morning to suit all tastes and cooked to perfection. Thank you to Andrew & Lyndsey for making our stay very enjoyable. We will recommend your B&B to everyone! Good Luck for the future (not that you'll need it).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Glencree for 6 nights just 2 weeks ago and enjoyed every minute. Andrew and his lovely wife Lynsey made me feel so welcome. The breakfasts were wonderful with local fresh fruit and juices I especially loved the toasted bagel with cream cheese, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. My room was super comfortable and clean and the home itself is close to all amenities. Andrew had time to answer questions and give great advice on restaurants. It felt like I was staying with friends. I would absolutely recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone planning on going to Penzance!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed one night last week and was impressed by the quality of the room and the breakfast. Andy the host made us feel welcome and the place has a nice relaxed atmosphere. The Smoked salmon and eggs was a particular highlight .Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I went to Glencree with my parents and we had a great time. Andrew, the owner, is extremely kind and knowledgeable about the area. Since the moment we checked in, he helped us scheduling a fantastic 4 days trip in the surrounding area. We covered most of the area and all his suggestions were right. The B&B is super clean, spotless, the breakfast was 1st class with organic juices and local products, abundant and with plenty of choice. There is a really nice atmosphere at breakfast and you really feel at home. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are firm and comfortable. I would definitely go again. As for the location, it is a 5/10 minutes (depending on your speed) walk from the town main road. Saint Michael's Mount is also relatively close and you can go or come back walking (it took us roughly 1 hour without rushing and taking pics along the walk). There is also a tour with double deck bus that leaves next door and takes you through all the further east peninsula.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiara_KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We've stayed there just for two nights and I must say that everything was perfect! From the room to the breakfast! Specially that bagel with salmon and eggs... Great hosts, great place, absolutely recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The location was great. Near centre but very quiet, and parking on the street was easy. We even managed to get a spot right outside. Andrew is a wonderful helpful host and the breakfast was excellent. Room was in the attic and the bathroom was quite small, but who needs a big bathroom when you are only staying overnight?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
843 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 84 in Penzance
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 84 in Penzance
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#6 of 84 in Penzance
273 reviews
0 mi away
Treventon Guest House
Treventon Guest House
#9 of 84 in Penzance
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree House

Address: 2 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £77 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glencree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Glencree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencree House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing