We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed!”
Review of Glencree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glencree House
Ranked #3 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing bed!”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The thing that really stood out about Glencree House was the amazingly comfortable bed. There is so many beautiful things to see in Cornwall, but the bed was soo cosy! :)

The service was lovely - so friendly and helpful. They have all sorts of brochures and books and maps to use for your travels around Cornwall. And Penzance is a great base to see a lot of Cornwall - we took a bus to Land's End and around to St Ives, and then a bus back. We did a great walk to Mousehole and then the other way to St Michael's Mount (which you can see from Penzance).

The B&B is in a nice location - a short walk to the centre of town but far enough away to be really quiet and peaceful.

It was a great B&B - really comfortable in so many ways. It was a perfect birthday trip away!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    37
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
157
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Planned to stay 1 night and stayed 3. Excellent very fresh food for breakfast with good choices. Rooms very comfortable and we had a wonderful sea view. Always managed to get a park in the street. Were able to gather maps and all the other information we needed to be able to make the most of our time in West Cornwall. The building itself is most attractive inside and out. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

After a 400+ mile drive there I received a super welcome. As a 'lone' traveller I was in a single (so smaller) room, but it was a bright VERY clean & welcoming room, with a practical little en-suite. In my opinion VERY good value. A quick change and back downstairs and I received suggestions and map for a late evening meal - thanks! Went to bed shattered, but up fresh for a good breakfast and ready to head the 400+ miles home!! Very nice, well run BnB, friendly, very clean and bright, good location, great value - wish I could have sayed longer. MUST return with my wife - and try one of their larger and more plush rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We were guests for just 12 hours before we caught the ferry to the Isle of Scilly early in the morning. Made to feel very welcome and given very useful information to make our stop over run smoothly. An exceptional comfortable nights sleep and a fabulous choice for breakfast. Lovely toiletries too. Found the recommondation in Lonely Planet but its description was an understatment - once we arrived we didn't want to leave,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed in a comfortable crisp large bed in a small single. I managed to work despite that and the very friendly hosts were very accomodating. The bathroom was down the corridor. The shower could have done with more zip and there were a few minor points to tidy up but those were being addressed. Absolutely nothing to put off any visitor. A lovely welcoming stay. Good quiet location for exploring Penzance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2010

I stayed in Glencree for a week, and can't recommend it highly enough for value, convenient location and the friendliness of Andrew and Lynsey, the owners. My room was was clean and comfortable - not en suite, but I had a whole bathroom to myself a little further down the hall, with a dressing gown provided! The breakfasts, ordered the previous night, are varied and superb. Wifi is fast and free. There is a large selection of books, maps and leaflets in the dining room available for borrowing. Most of all, Andrew and Lynsey are welcoming hosts and a mine of information about Penzance and Cornwall generally. Getting a parking spot in the road outside can be pot luck sometimes, but I usually found a space reasonably close. Would recommend the Glencree to anyone visiting Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

A cosy little guesthouse! Friendly, helpful and charming hosts. Great clean rooms. Nice quiet location. A very good breakfast... The two night stay felt a bit too short actually. If I ever return to Penzance I can't think of any other place to stay.

As I usually stay in single rooms, I'm quite used to having separate bathrooms. This was the case in Glencree House too, but no other place has offered a bathrobe to use when slipping from the bedroom to the bathroom. Very considerate indeed, and a nice little detail which made my stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 81 in Penzance
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 81 in Penzance
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencree House

Property: Glencree House
Address: 2 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glencree House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynsey and Andrew are your friendly & welcoming hosts in an elegant Victorian guesthouse situated in a peaceful & quiet location close to Penzance seafront and town centre. With its wealth of character and many original features, Glencree House echoes the romance of yesteryear, combined with the comfort and style of today. We have 7 bright, spacious, recently refurbished guest rooms configured as a mixture of single, twin, family and double rooms - one with a four-poster bed and some with sea views. All rooms are en-suite or have a private bathroom and are equipped with free wi-fi, TV and DVD player, DAB clock radio with iPod docking station, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Your guest lounge area is situated in the streaming sunshine of the bay window at the front of the house and is complete with a library of local information including pamphlets, books, maps and timetables. We are more than happy to sit with you for a few minutes to help plan your visit to West Cornwall. Glencree House is a short stroll to the main shopping & dining streets of Penzance, Penlee House with its gardens and cafe, the 1930's art deco open air lido, cinemas, museums and art galleries to mention a few. We are also conveniently located for the rail station, bus station, harbour and heliport for trips to the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glencree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencree House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing