We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Sea View House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea View House
Ranked #41 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Greeted by Chris, a very affable host, who was keen to answer my questions on the trials of running a b&b. My room was well appointed with satellite television, but the lcd tv was too high on the wall to be able to see properly. A problem I solved by sticking the door wedge under the back of it. I had a personal bathroom across the landing and was even given a bathrobe, a thoughtful touch. There is an exit dedicated to guests just by this bathroom that opens onto an outside staircase. This staircase is slippery when wet, beware if returning from the pub in the rain. Breakfast was excellent with the hosts starting conversations between the tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    8
    10
    1
See reviews for
9
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for one night whilst walking the coast path. An excellent place to stay. A warm welcome and comfortable rooms with SkyTV and free wifi.
The location is perfect - just a stroll down to the beach and there is off road parking.
A very good breakfast as well.
I have no complaints and would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed here for a few nights as I was at the Minack & wanted to explore the area, which is stunning, ideal for a visit to the theatre as only a 10 minute walk or, as I had my disabled mum with me a 2 minute drive. The room was very comfortable, with on suite facilities, although these were a bit small it wasn't a problem. The beds were really comfortable & we had proper pillows, not those awful flat things you normally get. Chis & Deb were very friendly but not in your face, breakfast was well cooked & there was plenty of it. Thoroughly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: If you are slightly on the large size you may struggle with the twin on suite shower but there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linsH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have just stayed in this B&B for one night following a show at the Minack. It was comfortable and friendly. The host Chris was chatty but did not impose on us. The breakfast was lovely, although the porridge could have been cooked a little longer.
Overall a very comfortable stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We have just returned from a nights stay at Seaview House. We visited the Minnack theatre, and had a wonderful night. The theatre is 10 min walks from the house making it an ideal spot. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we were mad very welcome by the owners Chris and Deb. The breakfast was top notch. We would definately recommend staying here. The location is great for the beautiful beach and the theatre. We even had the pleasure of seeing a basking shark whilst we were at the theatre making it a truly magical evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were made to feel very welcome at Sea View House. We had 2 excellent twin bedded rooms, one en-suite and the other with a private bathroom close to the room. The easy walk to the Minack was about 10 minutes. Breakfast was also very good. Would definitely stay there again if we return to the area and would recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This B&B is a short walk up the hill from the SW coast path. Our room was fine, small en-suite bathroom but OK for the night we were there. The pub down the road is close by for food - very average pub grub but after a long walk it did the job. Breakfast was very nice. Nice owners who are keen to make you welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
4.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
459 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 81 in Penzance
386 reviews
5.5 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#21 of 81 in Penzance
123 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Commercial
The Commercial
#1 of 9 in St Just
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View House

Property: Sea View House
Address: Sea View House Porthcurno | Porthcurno, Penzance TR19 6JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sea View House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing