We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
Review of Higher Faugan Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Higher Faugan Parc
Ranked #30 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We went to the Minack Theatre on Friday night for a Suzanne Vega concert and stayed at the Higher Faugan Parc for one night. We could not have wished for a better evening. The concert was breathtaking and the stay at the hotel was faultless. When we arrived the owner welcomed us and showed us to our room. The room (suite) was bright and spacious and the furnished to a very high standard as was the rest of the hotel. We had views over the countryside and the hotel grounds and garden were perfection. Before we left for the concert the owner made sure that we were suitably dressed and provided us with a blanket so that we didnt get too cold during the performance. He was on hand should we had needed anything at all but we didnt need anything because it had already been provided and they had thought of everything. There was one thing I would have liked which would have been a cooked breakfast but the continental breakfast provided was ample - more than ample - and we were able to bring our own food into the room and cook it in the small kitchen area had we wanted to. Thank you for an absolutely wonderful stay - it made our weekend perfect. Next time I shall make sure that I bring the helicopter :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMAGALEDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments, It is very rewarding to know our efforts do not go unnoticed.
and that what we provide is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

This quality B&B is located in Newlyn, and provides an ideal base for exploring south west Cornwall. The price of the B&B may not suit every budget, but the rooms are spacoius and nicely decorated. The continental breakfast in the room is a nice touch, allowing for a leisurely start to the day.
The property is in a quiet peaceful setting, and yet is only minutes from Newlyn and Penzance. Evening meals are available from a number of restaurants, and our favourite was the King's Arms located in the nearby village of Paul.
Well worth the visit for that special occasion.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Davmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Delightful Australians, very appreciative of our efforts, welcome to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Very high standard. I was delayed and therefore didn't arrive until very late in the evening. The owners couldn't have been more accomodating. Absolutely faultless.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 359,282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Nice professional, always welcome here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel, our first visit being two years ago. Higher Faugan is situated at the top of Newlyn with beautiful views across Mount's Bay, the rooms are modern, clean and well presented and decorated . The bed was very comfortable and in the suite that we had there was desk for a laptop and wi-fi was available.Breakfast is provided in the rooms and a good choice is available. The location is very peaceful and well situated to explore the beauty of West Cornwall; as well as it's good positioning, it was also the former home of Stanhope Forbes the renowned Newlyn artist. The service was very good, we dealt with the owner who we found to be friendly, courteous and accomodating We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you, what a great couple always welcome here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We arrived before check in time and were told to come back later. After a several hours drive, a smile would have been nice. But we were upgraded to a nice, spacious room and spent a relaxing moment. The situation is great, not too far from the city but remote from little nuisances. I couldn't say we had a friendly welcome with the lady but the "upgrade" factor and the quality of the place definitely made it up.

Room Tip: Come when there is no one, you might be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azavgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Guests arrived unexpectedly 3 hours prior to check time and were politely asked to return later, we advise all guest to comply with our check time, or phone to arrange early check in if possible, we always do our best to accommodate this if asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This 3 room B&B, set in a beautiful country house is clean and very nicely decorated. We enjoyed our stay in the suite but felt that pricing was about 20% more than similar facilities elsewhere. Location is remote and hard to find. Parking is free but you'll need a car to reach a restaurant. Much of the house and grounds is off-limits to guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK65Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, a little more research or contacting us direct prior to booking may have resulted in advice of cheaper alternatives we offer, however guests choice to book with us through an agent may explain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The owner Doug was extremely unfriendly! Didn't even say a welcome when we arrived. Very cold face! When we asked if there is a baby cot available he give us a dead face and said firm no. It ruined our holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Supermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Guests response on departure was "Everything was Fine" so comments posted are confusing, Despite asking guest since to contact us to remedy his concerns, no response to date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 82 in Penzance
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Faugan Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Faugan Parc

Address: Chywoone Hill, Penzance TR18 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £105 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Faugan Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1904, this beautiful private guest house offers contemporary style accommodation in the small Cornish town of Newlyn, within easy reach of Lands End, St Ives and Penzance. Formerly the family home of artists Stanhope and Elizabeth Forbes (founder of the Newlyn School of Art), Higher Faugan features 7 guest rooms, including 4 luxury suites, all of which are equipped with modern comforts such as Smart TV USB outlets and Wi-Fi internet access. Our concept is room only plus continental breakfast provided in your room or suite, see our website for full details ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Higher Faugan Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Faugan Parc Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing