We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & good location”
Review of Carnson House

Carnson House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carnson House
Ranked #58 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Carnson House for 3 nights B&B. We were made very welcome and looked after extremely well. The house is very clean and the breakfasts are great. A good location for exploring Penzance or for getting to the station & harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

The Carnson House covers the basics. If you're just looking for a no frills B&B this fits the bill. The location is excellent for Penzance literally over the road from the train station. This makes it easy to find, yet never seemed to offer any noise, so it's all good.

The rooms are tidy, and clean. And the beds do the job when it's time to sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Being probably a bit over critical the place would probably benefit from refreshed decor, and whilst it was cheap for Penzance, I feel that it was no massive bargain.

All in all it's worth staying if you want the traditional British seaside B&B. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvilSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A decent B&B thast could probably do with some updating, but that doesn't bother me much. No car park so on street parking - again, not an issue. A strange noise from the loo and overall quite well worn but not tatty or dirty. £65 a night isn't overly cheap but I'd far rather give these guys £65 than some hotel chain. Warm welcome and a very, very good breakfast.
It's not amazing, but it's worth the money and I'd use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andyboy390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I booked through a central booking site based on facilities (as advertised) and availability.

My stay was only for one night and i found Carnson House to be OK in all honesty (i wish there were more ratings as although i don't think they were 'very good' i also think they were better then average so opted for the better rating.

LOCATION: Handy for the railway station, front, harbor and town centre - all with in walking distance.

PARKING: Advertised as free parking but not strictly accurate. The parking is free on a side street if you can find a space (which i did). Having said this i had to park on double yellow lines to unload my things and book in (risking a ticket) which wasn't ideal.

HOSTS: Rob was very friendly and helpful, even took me to find a parking space. Didn't really have much interaction with his wife though so can't comment.

BREAKFAST: Cereals and fruit juices available as well as choice of cooked breakfast. Tea, coffee and toast as required included. Couple of minor points with breakfast - Filter coffee was very weak and cheap sausage let the full nicely cooked breakfast down a little. All in all though a good breakfast.

THE ROOM: Small but adequate. The room was a double with en suite shower room and to be honest was an ok room. Bed was comfortable and the bedding was clean and good standard. The room had TV, Free Wifi, Hair Dryer, tea and coffee (and points for the Carnson over 5 star hotels I've stayed in - there was not just one sachet of everything which was great for a coffee addict .The room was very warm, and though on a main road i heard little traffic noise at all. The furniture was a little dated but not to the extent has been mentioned in other reviews though i would recommend getting rid of the hideous ceiling fan!

BATHROOM: En suite, spotlessly clean with towels (good quality i might add) and basic toiletries included

COST: maybe a tad expensive for a 3 star but again given the extras included it was ok for a one night stay.

ALL IN ALL: i never experienced any of the issues other reviewers have mentioned but maybe the reviews were taken on board and service improved upon

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fialko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed there on our way to St Mary':terrible ground floor room in need of updating, stuffy and noisy, couldn't even open window, shower not worth its name, we had to leave early on the Sillonian and when asked what time we could get breakfast we were totally flabbergasted, he simply said that he didn't serve breakfast early and also were refused part of our money back - disgusted and extremely rude and extremely poor standards in all aspects. Next time we'll go and stay in a Premier Inn when we go and celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heinigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It has been many years since this `place` was updated. Even the breakfast was cold and covered in grease. If we hadn`t have pre booked and paid £65 in advance we would not have stayed. Home from home, NEVER in a million years..........

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Carnson House is a great B&B in a good location at one end of town opposite the railway station. Parking is an issue however we found it reasonably inexpensive to park at the railway station paying for 4 days in advance. Forget parking during the day but getting back in the evening after a day out, finding a parking place was not a problem, even over the easter weekend. Our room was very small but adequate and very clean. Beds were soft but comfortable and getting a good nights sleep was not a problem. Our bathroom was opposite our room, but we were aware of this prior to booking so it wasn't an issue. The owners were brilliant, very friendly and only to happy to assist with advice or directions, or just to have a chat over breakfast. Breakfast was very good with ample selection from a full cooked English breakfast, to simple cereal and toast. Laundromat is a couple of doors away so very convenient for washing travel clothes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
833 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#44 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#45 of 82 in Penzance
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#55 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnson House

Address: 2 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnson House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Carnson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnson House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing