We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely garden and cream tea too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trengwainton Garden

Trengwainton Garden
Ranked #5 of 63 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely garden and cream tea too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our walk through gardens and sampled a lovely cream tea sat outside.
would have been nice if tea garden grass had been cut - that was the only small downfall.-
that area could be made lovely.
staff very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    154
    39
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful estate with a Pride and Prejudice style manor house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautifully managed estate with wonderful plantions of exotics and natives. Charming little tea room on site serving delightful cream teas. They were even serving fresh food grown in the adjacent walled gardens! Lovely walks around the site leading to the hilltop 'arbor view' and wonderful regency period manor house surrounded by carefully tended lawns. it made me think of Jane Austin. Would recommend this garden to anyone visiting west Cornwall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 896MariaC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric in the Rain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lots of spectacular plants and a pleasantly up hill and down hill walk.
The walled gardens are impressive.
I think the plants could do with a lot more 'labelling' - a few are - but seems to be no pattern or reason.
The walled gardens seem oddly 'overgrown' - some of this is historic - but as with the rest - i am sure a 'planned strategy' would be in order here.
It is an odd layout and lacks signage - you turn up at a car park (or two) and it was not apparent where to go - the toilets and Cafe are in one place and the 'shop/entrance' in another - then as the 'House' is in private hands you edge along 'private' signs - and even the 'walled' area is similarly divided.
I thought more 'explanation' would have been in order.
But as a NT member definitely worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank knwldgmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Visited only to eat this time. Had lovely soup and really well filled tasty sandwiches. It was lovely day so able to eat in the garden. Glad to see the use of Waspinators which really seemed to work as I remember a wasp problem at the tearoom last year. (must buy a couple for home).
Not cheap but worth a treat.
Nice clean toilets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stopped here for a few hours, enjoying our National Trust membership whilst on holiday in Cornwall. My wife & I enjoyed walking the gardens and reading some of the information. Gift shop was nice and we sampled food and drink too where the quality, service and price was as expected an attraction like this. Good Loo facilities.
Worth a look!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trengwainton Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trengwainton Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing