We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant and a must do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Discovery

Marine Discovery
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Inspiring sea safari sailing trips aboard a ten metre catamaran, with the winners of the 2013 Responsible World Whale Watch Awards . A voyage on "Shearwater II" gives you the best opportunity to find the marine wildlife of south west Cornwall, including seals, porpoises, seabirds, dolphins, basking sharks and whales. All trips are fully guided with experienced and entertaining guides, who are trained educators. Shearwater II takes just 12 passengers and 2 crew, so you get a great view of the wildlife and the views without having to peer over other people. Please call or email to enquire. Fully licenced and insured NB please remember that sightings of specific species cannot be guaranteed and that we advertise this fact widely. Therefore the most useful and accurate reviews of our company rate us on the factors we can directly control e.g. customer service, politeness, ease of booking, quality of welcome and so on, rather than whether the reviewer saw the exact species they wanted. Marine Discovery is shut between November and March due to weather constraints and winter maintenance. If in doubt, call to check.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant and a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We went out with Marine Discovery for my birthday early this month and had a great time!

They have a wealth of knowledge and are very friendly throughout the trip. We felt very safe and at one point i was so comfortable i nearly had a little snooze!

Highly recommended and a must go if you are in the area.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank smallwren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really fun day out - A must do trip if you visit Cornwall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Unfortunately we didn’t see any whales, sharks or dolphins but we still had a really good time. We were lucky enough to see some seals perched on rocks and a variety of sea birds including gannets, which were diving for fish. Our guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The catamaran was very comfortable to ride in and had lots of room on board. It was nice to know we were using a very eco-friendly mode of travel since we spent much of the time sailing and not burning lots of fuel - which would be the case with a motor boat. A must do if you visit Cornwall, I would definitely do it again!.

Miss Mergie Hassan

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Mergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Most thrilling adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We went on a 1.5hrs Coastal Safari in a High speed Yatch. I was most of the time lying on a trempolin, the thrill of lying on a soft surface just a feet above sea level, and water occasionaly splashing at you,,,, it just un-imaginable. Although we went to sea Seals/Dolphins but it was the sheer pleasure of a high speed ride in the Yatch which takes all the credit.

This is a must visit for anyone coming to cornwall, but make sure weather is good otherwise wind chill will kill :)

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank mehtap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“I hadn't realised how many sharks are so near the Cornish shore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

I fancied a sea safari as something a bit different whilst in Cornwall. The company is based on Albert Pier in Penzance. Wear lots of layers of clothes as it is wet and windy and you'll be out there for a few hours. The guides were really knowledgeable and friendly. We saw about 15 basking sharks pretty near the harbour! Unfortunately no dolphins that day, but another boat had seen some earlier. Trips aren't always running so try to book ahead if you can.

Helpful?
5 Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sea Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

At 12.45 on a hot day I met up with Hannah and Duncan and 7 other people for a sea safari. After being issued with waterproofs we were lead down to our boat - the shearwater - and inflatable craft with a powerful engine. After Duncan had given us a safety talk he pointed out our first sea bird of the day - a guillemot in Penzance harbour.

Then we were off speeding out to sea asnd along the coast to Mousehole. This was a thrilling ride buit only a taste of what was to come. We paused to at the rocks outside Mousehole where Duncan told us about the sea life and Hannah stories about local fishermen. We followed the coast to Loggan rock and Porthcurno sighting may seabirds on route. Some of this was a speed run with shearwater bouncing off the tops of waves in a sea that was a little choppy. Glad of my waterproofs for this as a bit of spray from the waves. Was able to add gannet and fulmar to the list as well as two speices off blacked backed gull. and shag. At Laggan rock there was a small seal colony and Hannah told us all about their life. Fulmars and kittewakes were on the sea and let us get pretty close to them. Looking up the cliffes as well We also heard about the tragic story of the Penlee life boat.

Then we off again jumping across the wave tops heading for the Longships just off Lands End. However a mist had formed on the horizon which would have made it unsafe to go on anyfurther north. So we did not reach Lands End. It was decided to turn back towards Penzance but to visit a few places where Hannah and Duncan knew we might find dolphin or basking shark. Off out to sea again and this time I really was glad of my waterproofs as we went a few miles off shore. Despite watching the gannets our luck was not in. No dolphins were seen by us. Sadly on the news that night we heard about the pod of dolphins that beached themselves in the Fal estuary. If they had remained at sea then we may have seen these. It is a reminder that nothing in nature is guarenteed and how cruel it can be.

Certainly I can recommend a sea safari from Penzance and would go on another one if there again. Hannah and Duncan have a vast knowledge about the local wildlife and the area as well.

Helpful?
13 Thank travellover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marine Discovery also viewed

 

Been to Marine Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing