We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Georgian Gothic delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Abbey
Ranked #49 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“A Georgian Gothic delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a truly English boutique hotel. It is reminiscent of staying in a fiends’ small country house. The rooms are furnished as if from a National Trust House. It would be wise to assume that each bedroom is widely different. The one I stayed in was spacious. There is a sitting room on the first floor with comfortable sofas and chairs and an open fire. Built a few hundred years ago the place is decorated in a fine bright style with a quirky collection of furnishings to keep the Antiques Road Show busy for many weeks.

The cooked breakfast is excellent and the wooden panelled dining room is pleasing. The hotel team are welcoming and they are to help. No evening meals are available but you are spoilt for choice as the centre of town is less than five minutes walk away.

The hotel overlooks the harbour with gorgeous views across the bay to St Michael’s Mount. At the back there is a splendid well stocked walled garden. The modest car park at the rear of the hotel has space for about five vehicles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
55
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Quirky, eccentric and totally wonderful!

If you are coming to Penzance, this is the only hotel to stay in and your hosts, Thaddeus and his wife, could not be more charming.

A very memorable joy.

ps You are right by the harbour and the train station and Scillonian (ferry to the Scillies) are a 5 minute walk away

Room Tip: The appartment is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Abbey Hotel was an absolute delight to stay in, from the characterful rooms, the the elegant drawing room, indulgent cream teas and heart breakfast. Ideal if you're visiting or going on to the Scillies!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onsala, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay! The afternoon tea that welcommed us was eccelent, the suite was so cosy and elegant and the breakfast so nice! The garden and everything in the house had such an atmosphere! We loved our stay at the Abbey!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite wich was really nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

FANTASTIC! We visited way before stated but it's one of my favourite hotels in Britain! Loved it! Just got TripAdvisor app too. we loved the courtyard at the back and there were several fantastic restaurants around the corner too!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mWoofphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The Abbey Hotel is a gem. Our welcome was warm and inviting from Thaddeus. The house belongs in his family. Because we extended our stay by a night, we experienced two rooms and both were well-equipped and charming -- period furnishings with modern beds. Both had a lovely view out to the harbour and sea and St. Michael's Mount and one (#1) also had a beautiful view of the well kept garden. The garden is a splendid place for tea after a day of touring. The drawing room is beautiful and has lots of books and an honour bar. Breakfast was first class with all that could be expected, from full-cooked to kippers, etc. There is parking for 4 or 5 cars. The location could not be better for strolling along the harbourfront or exploring the shops and restaurants on Temple Street. It was a pleasure to experience this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lived up to all expectations, Thadddeus made us so welcome. People of a certain age will know the history of this place. It was an ambition of my wife to visit the Abbey for some twenty years, should have done it a long while ago, but better late than never. A truly wonderful experience. We ordered good weather and got it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yacht Inn
The Yacht Inn
#29 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: Abbey Street, Penzance TR18 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Hotel is a rare gem, a hotel that refuses to enter the modern world, choosing instead to linger in its serenely elegant past. The feel is of a smart country house, and the drawing room – roaring fire, huge gilt mirror, walls of books, rugs on stripped floors – is hard to beat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Penzance
The Abbey Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing