We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendidly small but huge in Character.”

Penlee House Gallery & Museum
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penlee House Gallery & Museum is the only Cornish venue specialising in the Newlyn School and early St Ives artists (c.1880 - c.1940). This popular museum and art gallery is set in a building that was originally a Victorian family home, surrounded by a delightful sub-tropical park formed from the original garden. Changing exhibitions throughout the year celebrate the rich artistic heritage of West Cornwall.Winner of the South West Tourism Excellence Awards 2011-12 and of the Cornwall Tourism Awards 2009, 2010 and 2011 as Small Visitor Attraction of the Year. Open Monday to Saturday (Closed Sundays) throughout the year, including most Bank Holidays (closed Christmas and New Year), opening hours are 10am - 5pm during the summer (Easter to September) and 10.30 to 4.30 in the winter, with last admission half an hour before closing.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,078 reviews
558 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
“Splendidly small but huge in Character.”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

By way of a revisit we,on a rare fine day this winter,returned for a stroll,Coffee & Cake,then wander the galleries.
One of my child hood memories was the need to come to this place every time in PZ,it had a Colt45 'cowboys gun'........we would stand around within CM of this wonderful thing,how times change.
Take time when in the area to spend an hour or so here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    127
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely little gallery”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent for art..Newlyn School....interesting historical artefacts from the area and prehistoric stuff.
The tea room has huge portions of delicious cake and does meals as well. Staff are helpful and friendly.
Super place to visit in December when it is mizzling..altho in the summer the gardens are gorgeous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Art I can understand”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Penlee House. the café was bright and cheerful and the food and drink good. The café was very busy and at lunch time sitting was difficult to find. at the moment entry to the Gallery and Museum is free until January 14 because of the generous bequests they have recently received but they need our financial support so please buy their cards and gifts from the shop.. The pictures they have from the Newlyn School of Art are just lovely. We really enjoyed our visit and the next time we go to Cornwall we will go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Katharine186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very lack luster.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The cafe is nice on a beautiful day. But I'm afraid the rest I found rather boring. I think they should make it a bit more upmarket.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Penzance63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A top place to visit”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wonderful Newlyn School paintings, some owned by the gallery. Several changing shows each year including Cornwall Crafts' Association's Christmas show, Lots of local history, good shop for books and cards. And when you are weary, the bistro feeds you well - inside or out on the terrace.

I am a a member of the Friends of Penlee House and visit nearly every exhibition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank h-luke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penlee House Gallery & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Penlee House Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing