We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Place”
Review of The Tarbert Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tarbert Hotel
Ranked #69 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Loved the Place”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Stayed 2 nights - overnight for ferry to Scilly Isles and likewise returning back to mainland one week later.
Totally comfy and tastefully decorated. Very relaxed atmosphere. All staff very friendly and breakfast was an eye opener. Large, tastefully decorated, funky inbuilt fish tanks with super cutlery and plates. Food was terrific and loads of choice. Went out on a dieting plan returned to take that fried breakfast (my choice) sausage, black pudd everything delish!! No pretence or nonsense - just take it easy and enjoy! Thanks alot Paul and Michael - Patti xxx

  • Liked — Food delish and rooms immaculate and tastefully done - everything worked - tv fone etc
  • Disliked — no lift but not important easy to walk up stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PattiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SW England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed at The Tarbet Hotel in Penzance and found the experience rather trying. First of all the review says "there's plenty of parking" when in truth there's only on street parking from 7pm - 9am and Pay and Display Car Parks. We were told it wouldn't be a problem parking outside but I'm sure if a Traffic Warden would of come along we'd have been booked.
The room was fairly compact and tiny. The shower and bathroom was in a cupboard! But tidy and clean. It wouldn't of been easy for a disabled person to navigate the room.
The plumbing kept us awake half the night, moaning and groaning as people used the water related facilities.
Breakfast was a little embarrassing - I asked for a vegetarian breakfast and I was answered with "what do you mean?" "Fish?"
We tried to transcribe this to the lady and she then came out with half a tin of baked beans and about 3 eggs worth of scrambled eggs! She was from the UK!!
The hostess was particularly rude about international visitors not eating a Full English Breakfast. She was rude and abrupt.
I would not stay at this hotel again. Very little sleep and poor Customer Service Skills, no rappore with visitors staying.

  • Liked — The shower facilities
  • Disliked — It appears the hotel was still under repair or refurbishment
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe_jane6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Well, we usually stay in the large 'chain' hotels, hilton, marriott hol inn etc, and these are few and far between in Devon and Cornwall! So on our recent long weekend down to Penzance, we stayed at three smaller/independent hotels - one night in Torquay, one in St Austell and then 2 at the Tarbert hotel in Penzance. They were all booked within a few days of arriving (and I couldnt believe how full all the hotels in Cornwall already were!!). Well, the Tarbert was the smallest of the three (not sure how many rooms it has, I would guess 10 ish) and was also the best. I went with low expectations, but in hindsight i'm not sure why! We had a large, well decorated, and comfortable room with large widescreen TV, king sized bed, and sofa with coffee table. We turned up at about 2pm thinking we would be too early to check in, but were warmly welcomed. We were also provided with what turned out to be excellent advice on where to eat - and there were many restaurants within a 10 min walk. The seafront was also only about a 5-10 minute walk. Car parking: we had no problem parking on the road immediately outside - however note parking there is restricted to 45 mins between 8am and 7pm mon-sat (so you need to shift by 8.45am and can return by 6.15pm). That said, there is a public car park with massive amounts of space about 50 yards further up the road. We only used it once on the saturday afternoon, i think it was a £1 an hour. So parking was much less of a problem than we expected. Anything I can complain about? not really! we were on the second floor and had to negotiate the many stairs - we didnt mind in the slightest but anyone with mobility issues might want to ask for a lower room. Oh, and the bathroom could have been a bit bigger - the room had a shower rather than a bath - again, didnt bother us as we prefer a good shower (which it was!!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monkeynonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Stayed at this hotel twice as a stopover en route to and from Scilly Isles: handy for the station and heliport. Also close to the restaurants in Chapel Street. Bedrooms were comfortable and the included breakfast was excellent with a good choice of freshly cooked fare, such as full english, poached haddock, and eggs benedict. Friendly tv lounge/bar area and very helpful staff with useful local knowledge made this excellent value.

  • Liked — Breakfast and dining room
  • Disliked — Seagulls!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2007

My sister and I recently travelled to Penzance and stayed for 3 nights at the Tarbert Hotel. It was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had. The hotel owners and staff were extremely helpful and gave us excellent advice on local restaurants and places to see. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor to Cornwall. Penzance is much less touristy than St. Ives. It has a wonderful small town feeling.
Joanne Marsh
Staten Island NY

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank joannemrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, U.k.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I had a single room for 1 night at the Tarbert Hotel and really enjoyed my stay.

The staff were all very friendly with smiles and enthusiasm - such a nice quality to have greet you when it has been chucking it down with rain!

The place itself is nice and compact with my single room being perfect for me. The flat screen TV was nice to see, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom spotless.

The breakfast selection was varied and though not offering 100s of options (not that it would be expected anyway!) it certainly had enough to satisfy my appetite. It was also great to ask if free-range eggs were used and to be immediately greeted with a firmly positive answer! The breakfast area itself was also well lit, clean and spacious - a very pleasant place to be.

I'm really glad I chose the Tarbert Hotel. It was round the corner from the main streets, within about 5 mins walk to the sea front and (most importantly) had owners who really seemed to want to help as much as they could - this will be my #1 place to stay in Penzance.

  • Liked — The owners were friendly and enthusiastic
  • Disliked — I would have liked a coat hook on the back of the door as my coat was wet and not for a cupboard - but that is only a minor point
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangermousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2007

The hotel was really homely and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The full English breakfast was lovely and a glass of wine by the open fire in the evening was a must after the drive down to Cornwall.

Would definately use this hotel again. The only problem was that the walls were a little thin!

  • Liked — The staff and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOW_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#44 of 81 in Penzance
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morrab Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elmsdale Guest House
Elmsdale Guest House
#14 of 81 in Penzance
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#59 of 81 in Penzance
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#62 of 81 in Penzance
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tarbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tarbert Hotel

Property: The Tarbert Hotel
Address: 11/12 Clarence Street, Penzance TR18 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tarbert Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tarbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarbert Hotel Penzance
The Tarbert Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing