We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a bite of Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: located in the heart of penzance the blue snappa is a excellent meeting point to drink eat and catch up. without doubt the blue snappa is penzance best coffee cafe and we only use organic fairtrade coffee and Tea. We locally source all our food and with newlyn fishing port on our doorstep we always get the freshest seafood. open for breakfast,lunch and dinner daily.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for a bite of Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were in Penzance one afternoon at lunchtime and just popped in here by chance - not planned - as the seafront places were very busy. This place was quieter and the menu appealed to me. I had a mediterranean veg sandwich with feta and salad, this was nice enough good dressing on the salad. My partner had a steak and ale pie which he said was ok - This was £6 though and quite small, you had to pay extra for the chips .Atmosphere was ok, it was quite quiet. All in all it is a good place for a bite of lunch, service was ok but possibly a tiny bit pricey for the amount of food you get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“So so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Drinks VERY expensive. Wouldn't have minded if the barman wasn't so incredibly rude and miserable. However, the waitress was lovely, very polite and couldn't have done more. All in all an average Tuesday night.

Helpful?
Thank TheOldLifeboatHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great value for central Penzance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Good stuff, nice menu and people. Great promotion on Monday evenings - £5 for a main meal - fantastic value given the quality and location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
center
Level Contributor
239 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice cafe atmosphere average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Nice cafe...center of town. Problem is that the food is just average. I had chicken satay .. but it was muddy food without any real distinction. too bad. service was spotty as it was busy but the servers were very nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

First time at this restaurant with friends. Very impressive menu, with a wide variety of choice. Started off with the tortillas and cheese, with dips, very very nice. Followed this with 3 tapas, excellent! My friends had the trio of fish and the pork which was also enjoyed. Good value by the way! Desserts for two of us - lovely. Unfortunately the restuarant was very cold. We did chose a table at the back of the restaurant, but the door stayed open all evening which did not make for a comfortable setting. Also the service was good and the staff were attentive and not too overbearing. However, it felt as though they were only there for the wages! (not surprising) but were not interested in providing great customer service. (perhaps this is why the restaurant was fairly empty on a Saturday night). Would go again for the food but not for the atmosphere or service!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Snappa Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Newlyn, Penzance
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing