We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Cornwall
Ranked #7 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really quirky boutique hotel on one of the oldest streets in Penzance, lovely chilled atmosphere and very helpful staff. The rooms are small, but really interesting and well presented. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street which meant there was noise from the pub opposite but as I sleep with ear plugs this didn't bother me. If you're a light sleeper maybe ask for a quiet room. Breakfast was excellent, loved the greek yoghurt and home made stewed fruit in jars! Will definitely stay again if we're ever back in Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Kate W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a splendid review.

We all try our best to ensure guests enjoy their stay in Penzance whether this be our local knowledge or making guests feel at home here at Artist Residence.

We take great pride in our breakfast and the local ingredients sourced, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We really do hope you come to stay with us again or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    130
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
314
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second visit to The AR, and for good reason. It is in the heart of Penzance and in a great street. This of course means it can be noisy, but I've never been anywhere there where you are not woken by seagulls! The food is excellent. The rooms are charming and inspiring. The people are friendly and helpful and they welcome children.

Room Tip: The Picture Gallery is the nicest double and the quietest for street noise. Matt McIvor Gallery Stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi C B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review for your second stay here at Artist Residence, this is great that you came back to stay with us again, thank you! :-)

We take great pride in our rooms being individually decorated and our locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed all of it.

We hope to see you for your third visit or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great place to stay, Chapel street has so much history and is very central. Car park is down the road about 3-5 mins.

The room was lovely with art all over the walls, clean well equipped (Fridge) bed was very comfortable.

The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi SomersetWoody,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it.

We love our location on Chapel Street as we feel we are very close to the town centre yet it is a quieter and quirky street and very close to the seaside, everything on our doorstep. We take great pride in the uniqueness of our rooms and we all like to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay here at Artist Residence.

We hope to see you again one day here or at our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We are very impress with warm welcome by Lovely Vicky at AR. Vicky also suggests us where to watch world club 2014. So we went to Sir Humphry Pub. Not only the nice city but also people here are very nice. Beware of seagull when you have fish & chips near the beach. They will cone share the fish with you.
Add and team from Thailand

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Saijit L,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review!

We all loved having your group stay here at Artist Residence in Penzance and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We hope we see you again one day here or at our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Viki & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a really fun place to stay in the centre of Penzance. Each room is separately themed, with comfortable beds and crisp white sheets. My room right at the top of the building is a hike to reach, but worth it for the views across the bay, and I was helped with my bags. The breakfast was excellent and served on funky china. If you like quirky together with quality, this is a great place to stay. I've been back twice and recommended 2 other couples to stay there.

Room Tip: I stayed right at the top, great views, but lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspiringTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi InspiringTanya,

Thank you so much for writing a splendid review for us.

We are very happy to hear you have been loving Artist Residence so much that you have come back and recommended people, this is very much appreciated, thank you so much.

We hope to see you again soon or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband found this great little spot, we arrived during a festival so the roads were closed. We carried our luggage up a steep cobblestone hit from the rail station, and I told him this place better be worth it and it was. The house is bright, clean, fun and so well situated to the water, restaurants and buses. The best granola ever, and wow, what they did with a mango compote for breakfast. Our room was on the top floor, an attic but what they did with it was fantastic. Penzance and the Artist Residence was the best part of our trip. Thank you Tina and Vicky for making us feel so special. And they sell a dark chocolate bar that is to die for.

Room Tip: If you can't walk lots of stairs let them know, you won't be without stairs but at least cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Faith B,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we really appreciate it.

Sounds like you arrived on Mazey Day which is the midsummer festival in Penzance, we do hope you got to enjoy it :-)

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our breakfast, we do take great pride in our locally sourced ingredients.

We hope to see you again one day here or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Artists Residence has been recently refurbished to a nice standard. We stayed in Room 25 which was a twin roomed apartment at the top of the annex next door (42 steps up the stairs) We had lovely sea views across to Newlyn and from other windows across Mounts Bay towards the Lizard Peninsula. The kitchen was well appointed with all you need to cook a full roast meal inc all pots pans etc. Not that you need to cook whilst staying here as you are surrounded by some lovely restaurants and could quite happily eat in a different establishment each night. The bedrooms although not large had comfortable double beds and were well appointed. One had distant sea views and the other overlooked Chaple Street this room was a little noisier but you got to remember you're in the middle of a town by the seaside so Seagulls will make as much noise as people or vehicles. I think it just adds to the charm of the place. We had breakfast included which was served in the main building next door and was lovely you could choose from cereals omelette small full English etc etc etc all very nice. My only other observation would be this is not a place to stay if you are in a wheelchair or have limited mobility. Parking is also a little tricky but they are very good at advising where you might park for free on the street. I was lucky and was able to park all weekend for free on the street. I had a lovely stay and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 25 lovely views 2 bedrooms but 42 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi ExeterGemini,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such a brilliant review on your stay here in Penzance.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our new apartments, we have been very excited to open them this summer. I am sorry about our local seagulls, they do like "sing" in the mornings but haven't got the best of voices!

We are very lucky to be quite central and therefore surrounded by lovely restaurants, pubs, art galleries and shops and only a 5 minute walk from the sea-side but this does limit us in parking. I am very glad to hear you was well directed to the free on-street parking and found a space so easily.

We hope to see you again one day or at our sister hotel in Brighton!

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 81 in Penzance
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Cornwall

Property: Artist Residence Cornwall
Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence Cornwall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Artist Residence Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Cornwall Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing