We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Cornwall
Ranked #8 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 7 (loft room). The carpet was grubby and frayed, the main light did not work and it was extremely stuffy.
There were no spare plugs and the whole room looked tired. The bathroom was also too small for a room that cost £120 a night.

Breakfast was good and the location was excellent.

Looks better on the website.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jg11958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JG11958,

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with Room 7 and appreciate your feedback.

With regards to the main light not working, our housekeepers have a strict policy in place to always check the lightbulbs are working and has ensured us that she did so when making up your room. Unfortunately the light bulb could have blown in between housekeeping and during your stay. We apologise for this.

Currently Penzance is in the middle of a heatwave and therefore the building is much warmer than we are used to, especially the top floor bedrooms even though there are two windows within Room 7. We are doing our best to keep our guests comfortable by opening windows for arrivals and supplying electric fans on request. However, due to your comments we will ensure that the rooms on the second and third floors have fans equipped within the rooms.

Thank you for your comments about the carpet, bathroom and plug sockets. This is something that we will be addressing soon.

We are sorry that we were not made aware of your comments and if we had known we ensure that we would have gone out of our way to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    132
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
92
322
35
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A fabulous boutique hotel in a great location! We stayed in the AR Blank room, a great little space with blackboard doors so we could doodle away and leave a message.
Breakfast was fantastic, all cooked to order and the service was friendly. Thank you very much to all the team for looking after us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Lorna G,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review!

We love to hear you enjoyed your room and made use out of the blackboard doors! We love seeing our guests artistic side :-)

We take great pride in our breakfast ingredients and especially happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again one day here at Penzance or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A really quirky boutique hotel on one of the oldest streets in Penzance, lovely chilled atmosphere and very helpful staff. The rooms are small, but really interesting and well presented. Our room was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street which meant there was noise from the pub opposite but as I sleep with ear plugs this didn't bother me. If you're a light sleeper maybe ask for a quiet room. Breakfast was excellent, loved the greek yoghurt and home made stewed fruit in jars! Will definitely stay again if we're ever back in Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Kate W,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a splendid review.

We all try our best to ensure guests enjoy their stay in Penzance whether this be our local knowledge or making guests feel at home here at Artist Residence.

We take great pride in our breakfast and the local ingredients sourced, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We really do hope you come to stay with us again or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our second visit to The AR, and for good reason. It is in the heart of Penzance and in a great street. This of course means it can be noisy, but I've never been anywhere there where you are not woken by seagulls! The food is excellent. The rooms are charming and inspiring. The people are friendly and helpful and they welcome children.

Room Tip: The Picture Gallery is the nicest double and the quietest for street noise. Matt McIvor Gallery Stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi C B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review for your second stay here at Artist Residence, this is great that you came back to stay with us again, thank you! :-)

We take great pride in our rooms being individually decorated and our locally sourced ingredients for breakfast, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed all of it.

We hope to see you for your third visit or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great place to stay, Chapel street has so much history and is very central. Car park is down the road about 3-5 mins.

The room was lovely with art all over the walls, clean well equipped (Fridge) bed was very comfortable.

The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, we will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi SomersetWoody,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it.

We love our location on Chapel Street as we feel we are very close to the town centre yet it is a quieter and quirky street and very close to the seaside, everything on our doorstep. We take great pride in the uniqueness of our rooms and we all like to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay here at Artist Residence.

We hope to see you again one day here or at our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We are very impress with warm welcome by Lovely Vicky at AR. Vicky also suggests us where to watch world club 2014. So we went to Sir Humphry Pub. Not only the nice city but also people here are very nice. Beware of seagull when you have fish & chips near the beach. They will cone share the fish with you.
Add and team from Thailand

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, General Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Saijit L,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review!

We all loved having your group stay here at Artist Residence in Penzance and very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We hope we see you again one day here or at our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Viki & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a really fun place to stay in the centre of Penzance. Each room is separately themed, with comfortable beds and crisp white sheets. My room right at the top of the building is a hike to reach, but worth it for the views across the bay, and I was helped with my bags. The breakfast was excellent and served on funky china. If you like quirky together with quality, this is a great place to stay. I've been back twice and recommended 2 other couples to stay there.

Room Tip: I stayed right at the top, great views, but lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspiringTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtHotelPenzance, Manager at Artist Residence Cornwall, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi InspiringTanya,

Thank you so much for writing a splendid review for us.

We are very happy to hear you have been loving Artist Residence so much that you have come back and recommended people, this is very much appreciated, thank you so much.

We hope to see you again soon or maybe our sister hotel in Brighton :-)

Kind regards,

Tina & the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.5 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#21 of 83 in Penzance
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Cornwall

Property: Artist Residence Cornwall
Address: 20 Chapel Street | The Georgian House, Penzance TR18 4AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Artist Residence Cornwall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on historic Chapel Street in the heart of Penzance in a Grade 2 listed Georgian mansion. All our rooms and apartments are individually designed. Our artist rooms feature individual murals painted on to the walls by local artists. Our house rooms are eclectically decorated in a vintage style with Farrow and Ball paint, reclaimed furniture and limited edition prints. All rooms have a flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities and are en suite. Cooked breakfast is available in our newly refurbished dining area and is made using the finest local ingredients. You can also relax in our rustic neighbourhood restaurant. The Cornish Barn is open all day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offering a seasonal menu of seafood, meat and vegetarian put together by chef Gareth Spencer using local Cornish produce. The hotel is just a five-minute walk from Penzance train station making us the perfect base for exploring West Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Artist Residence Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Cornwall Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing