We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.....”
Review of Fat Fish Cafe

Fat Fish Cafe
Ranked #75 of 184 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$64
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fat Fish Café and Take Away serving you the best tasting fish and chips in Penzance - all dishes are homemade using locally sourced ingredients where possible. We are open all year round with free wifi and both indoor and outdoor seating. Whether you enjoy traditional fish and chips or prefer your fish simply grilled with new potatoes and vegetables, this is the place to eat them. Please note that all chips are cooked in palm oil making them suitable for vegetarians. If you follow a gluten free diet, you can still enjoy traditional fish and chips by requesting our celiac batter.It’s not all about fish and chips though. We do have varied breakfast items as well as delicious daytime dishes for you to choose from as well as our daily specials. Children have their own all day menu with dishes like ‘Pickers Platter’ designed specifically to cater to their tastes. You will find Fat Fish Café on Wharf Road opposite the harbour car park a minute’s walk from the railway and bus station and underneath Wharfside Apartments with eat in and take away food and wine. Private parties and events can be catered for, just give us a ring or call in to discuss your requirements. Whether you want just a coffee, glass of wine or a three course meal, you can be assured of a warm welcome from Lorraine and the team, so sit back and let us make your meal a memorable one!
Doncaster, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely.....”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We had the small cod, chips and mushy peas. It was cooked to order and was lovely. We sat inside and the server was attentive and pleasant and it was busy for a Thursday lunchtime. Would eat there again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenTon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Went to Fat Fish Café on my last day of my trip in Penzance with a friend. Was given a lovely plate of cod and chips along with a pot of tea. The fish was the cheapest I had had on my week's trip but also was the smallest - although not tiny - was just right - my friend has the smaller size which I guess would be suitable for a child. Very enjoyable and well worth it. One happy customer ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GayleAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Fish and chips within a few hundred yards of the sea should be better than this. It was okay but portions small and chips dry. Service was good though and my small piece of cod was okay. Location put me off, right on a noisy main road and opposite the huge Wharfside car park.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beedeeeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

A front of house waitress who couldn't crack a smile (or muster any enthusiasm), a soulless eating area in a shady spot by the road, & slow service despite being next to the associated chippy. The food, when it came, was reasonable - chips not too greasy - but certainly nothing to get excited about. However we struggled to find many alternatives (wrong time of day for the top rated place,& the only other chippy we passed was shut too). Filled a hole, but wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stopped here on the off chance during a day in Penzance. A young lady serves us,was very sweet,although we were informed promptly we were unable to use the toilets unless we bought something,somewhat off putting! The older lady was rather 'direct' & somewhat bossy towards the poor young one! Wasn't really a variety of beverages,and a choice of EITHER salad or chips? Myself coming from the resteraunt business I was disappointed. Then there's the drinks,almost £7 for two,because they only have cans,therefore a pint of coke was charged at two canned prices! Will be trying the chippy next door next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjaminbennyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Fish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fat Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing