We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming”
Review of Camilla House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camilla House
Ranked #15 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our room was spacious with a lovely sea view.
Breakfast was nicely prepared. A full English breakfast was offered.
And, we loved the location. Very central for all the sights we wished to visit.
Our hosts were friendly and helpful. We appreciated the recommendations for places to dine.

Room Tip: Our seaview room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here recently and we were very pleased. Room was fine with a great bed and storage space etc. Shower room was smallish as is usual in converted private houses but really clean and no problem. TV was a bit of a pain to use but didn't watch it much anyway. Breakfast was good with a good range and choice, the fresh fish was exceptional. As an added bonus car parking on site. A short distance to the town centre. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the top floor executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place has everything you would wish. We were staying to meet up with a group for a trip to the Scillies. It is well placed for the Scillonian with lots of eating places nearby. (The Yacht Inn is highly recommended - we ate there 4 times out of our four nights in Penzance.) Other people on the trip stayed in hotels and paid a lot more for much worse service. See other reviews for more detail.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Rooms on top floor have a sea view but small windows. Stay on lower floors if stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just wanted to say what a lovely time I had staying at this b and b. It really had all the attention to detail spot on from amenities in the rooms and the amazing breakfast too. The owners were very friendly and made some great recommendations of places to eat and things to see and do in the area. If I came back I would stay here again! Great nights sleep and excellent breakfast as well as being great value for money made this a perfect choice for my few days spent in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyHoylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Spent 3 nights at Camilla House and it was wonderful from Simon greeting us and giving us a house tour and ideas of things to do and places to eat to the lovely quiet and very clean and beautifully decorated room to the delicious breakfasts. Really a wonderful stay, couldn't have been better. ( psst... His restaurants are spot on!)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have beautiful views -windows both in front, facing the sea and back, facing the chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwitte1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a great location, hosts Simon and Susan couldn't be better. Really lovely comfortable rooms, good parking and excellent breakfasts. Really couldn't fault the accommodation and would certainly rebook when coming back to Penzance. Also given terrific restaurant recommendations.

Also able to park car and everything in Penzance in walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here in August with friends from Australia.I had booked the sea view rooms on the top floor which are excellent,lovely big bed ,quality furnishings and attention to detail .Water every day in the rooms was appreciated, it was good to have a dressing table and mirror to do our hair with a dryer that reached !!
Our breakfast every morning was very good,plenty of choice and cooked well.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone , we have stayed in others before and since which were not a patch on Camilla House.
Thank you for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitaandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#9 of 82 in Penzance
587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 82 in Penzance
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilla House

Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £107 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camilla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Camilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camilla House Hotel Penzance
Camilla Hotel Penzance
Camilla House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing