We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camilla House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camilla House
Ranked #14 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We booked into this place as a result of previous reviews. When we arrived we realised that ownership had changed very recently and the new owners were not as knowledgable as we expected. There were a few glitches during our stay, but overall it's a great little b&b and delivers good value for money. The bed was excellent.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cheopsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
132
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stay here for 4 nights and it was a pleasure. We got there early and was allowed to drop our luggage off. Fee spent at least 20 minutes with us, telling the best places to eat and visit.
Breakfast was a good range and had different time slots.
We had a room which looked out to the sea and was a great start and finish to the day.

Room Tip: Room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on a vacation that took us all over England. This stands out as the nicest lodging. The room was clean, quiet and nicely furnished. The hostess was incredibly helpful and made our visit to Penzance much more rewarding. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a warm, welcoming B&B experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It really was an unexpected pleasure! The rooms are big ,spacious and clean . The hearty breakfast was delicious and our hosts were warm friendly and it seemed as if I knew them all my life!
Fee will give you great advise on where to go and where to eat and her suggestions were all great! My family and I thoroughly enjoyed and relaxed in the lounge as well as in the rooms. I'm missing it already.... We will be back I promise !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisarahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This year Camilla House in Penzance was our third stay on our journey through Devon and Cornwall. We came in May from South-Germany and had a long way to travel. My wife and me spent four nights in Camilla House together with our daughter and her husband and it was as brilliant as it was four years ago. Fee and Curro are new owners and they are fantastic hosts who read every wish you have from your eyes. Fee also gave very good tips where to have dinner (Mackarel Sky, Navy Inn, Tolcarne Inn) and where to go sightseeing. And there’re a lot of wonderful places to see. Everything was so as we wanted it to be. We had very calm nights in comfortable rooms and tremendous good breakfasts (brilliant cooked and served by Curro) with wonderful talks in the morning. We slept in a room called St. Loy, a room with a king sized bed (all rooms are furnished in a different style and the have names belonging to lonely little coves in the neighborhood of Penzance). Our daughter and her husband slept in a room called Prussia quite as good as we did in our room. In interest to see these coves we visited most of them. For example: St. Loy, Penberth, Prussia, Poldhu, Mullion. It was a fantastic little journey. Camilla House, Fee and Curro, we all will have a wonderful remembrance of these four days. Thank you both for your hospitality. We'll gladly come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BavariaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend at camilla house and loved every minute fi and curro are the best hosts breakfast was yummy and the rooms comfy and spotless .nothing was too much trouble fi even cleaned our car !! will definitely be back as soon as we can

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zacbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Top marks to the new owners for providing everything one needs to stay in Penzance in Georgian style. The bed, particularly, (6 foot wide), was most comfortable and every facility is available from quality toiletries to fluffy towels and bathrobes.
The breakfast menu (you decide the evening before) was well cooked and presented with full "cornish", fruit and cheese platter or smoked fish and poached egg on offer as choices. Add to these quality juices, yoghourts, fresh fruit, cereals, nuts, etc to get you started. Excellent fare all round. Congratulations to Fi and Burro on settling in so quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camilla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camilla House

Property: Camilla House
Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Camilla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camilla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camilla House Hotel Penzance
Camilla Hotel Penzance
Camilla House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing