We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful short vacation”
Review of Trereife House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trereife House
Ranked #5 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful short vacation”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Found this fantastic accommodation with a nice deal on the internet. My friends and I spending a night in the guest house during February. The guest house is very convenience because it's located near to the town center ,only need to drive around six mins to get there. We booked a apartment which has a kitchen and two shower en-suite room with double and king bed. The room is fantastic, makes us feel warm and comfortable.The kitchen is fully equipped, so we used it to cook our own dinner and breakfast. Bed and pillow was so comfortable, we do have a good night sleep. The guest house is really nice and has a great environment, surround by many trees and flowers, peaceful and relax. Good weather and place, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylt_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    83
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
85
223
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol,UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this stunningly beautiful Queen Anne house. The grounds speckled with camelia in bloom, the box hedge parterre garden, the magnolia blossom viewed from our window, the fields off to the distance, all gave a sense of calm and beauty which leant our stay a sense of being transported back 200 years to an age of elegant living, free of bustle and noise. A really comfy bed, big pale blue wood-panelled bedroom, tall windows, huge bathroom, and decent wi-fi access was a 21st century bonus. Our hosts, Tim and Liz, were charming, welcoming, endlessly interesting but not at all intrusive, and they cooked a splendid breakfast. Tim's family had filled the house with pictures, furniture and care for generations. A very special place and a privilege to share the enjoyment and calm. Medlar jelly to die for. We shall certainly return soon. Go to the Old Coastguard for sit down fish and chips, great. We also went to Ben's Cornish Kitchen and loved it.

Room Tip: Well,just don't ask for The Coleridge when we want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I want to start this review by saying it is a review of the two bedroom apartment which is part of the old stable block, so I have no experience whatsoever of the rooms in the house itself, or of the breakfast, as a breakfast was not included in the deal we booked. The apartment we were given (Corbiere, named, we were told by Tim, after a former Grand National winner). The apartment was perfect for what we wanted. It had a small but perfectly adequate open plan kitchen/lounge, leading to a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, a separate bathroom, and a king size bedroom. Being just the two of us we decided to stay in the king size bed, and it was like sleeping on a cloud! The bed, bedding and duvet were complete luxury, and I could easily have stayed there all day. At the end of the day, when I'm booking an overnight stay, I'm looking for somewhere that's going to give me a good night's sleep, and this was one of the best I've ever had. The property has been in this families ownership for centuries, and we had a lovely welcome from the head of the family, Tim, before his son Ben showed us to the apartment. Apart from that we were left alone, which was perfect. There are some maintenance works that need carrying out to this place in terms of painting, dealing with some damp spots etc., but you are booking to stay in an old house, not a new build, so this needs to be taken into account. I would book to stay in that apartment again in a heartbeat, even just for the bed!

Room Tip: We were in the two bedroom apartment. Can't comment on the rooms in the actual house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Found by pot luck on the internet. Lovely old country house and grounds. We had a charming welcome from Tim on arrival and were shown through some faded grandeur into a beautifully furnished suite. Large bedroom with massive bed overlooking the landscaped grounds, spacious private bathroom next door. All mod cons from tea and coffee to (small) TV and wifi. We had a very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was served at a large table with small but perfectly formed selection of cereal, fruit & DIY toast followed by a whole range of cooked breakfasts including delicious smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Yes, there is a lot of work needed on the structure of the building but we can still give it a maximum rating overall and we haven't even mentioned the value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beautiful Coleridge suite which now has a shower over the large bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Quite an experience staying in this lovely old house. We had a spacious room overlooking the grounds. The family are delightful and nothing was too much trouble. The location is excellent for Penzance and exploring the southern part of Cornwall.
Another nice touch was the huge dining table for breakfast, where it was easy to converse with other guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

What a find, what a lovely family home and so welcoming. My friend warned me that the house is a bit tired and yes it is in places. It is not a crisp clean heartless and soulless building. It is a family home that the family welcome you in to with big warm open arms. The breakfast is shared with everyone at one table and not sat all alone with your backs to everyone else. It truly felt magical, genuine and comfortable. You can hire the entire place out and they can now have weddings, I will be looking into hiring the whole place for one of our mates weekends. Will most definitely return. The only down side is they do not provide evening meals. But hey the rest of it most certainly makes up for it. A place not to miss if you love original rustic charm. Let's hope it does not change

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Because I want this property to work and survive for the owners, I don't like giving it average, but in my view it was, in it's present state. The story behind it, the fact it's been on Country House Rescue adheres you to it but it is still very tatty. The drive is full of potholes, the courtyard needs basic tidying, there were holes in the ceiling where work is being done. However, the rooms they have decorated for guests were very pleasant and large. We had a room with 2 window seats and 3 windows with a separate bathroom out of the main bedroom. The décor was in keeping with the age and very lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable, tea/coffee making facilities and water in the room. Towel rail didn't work and because of the age of the property everything stayed damp, even your clothes felt damp in the wardrobe.
Breakfast was round a very old table and chairs, so you could talk to the other guests whilst making your choice. There wasn't a huge choice of cereals but it was fine. Plus full English and homemade bread to toast. It's definitely a work in progress and there are too many things that could be sharper, but it would be good to see how it moves on, which hopefully it will. Seems that the owners son, Peter is the main man who is getting things going on the B&B front, mum came into the dining room almost by accident, proclaiming that she shouldn't be working (as she was clearing plates for new guests) as she's retired now! perhaps she should start again in order to get this house really working for them and making the money it needs to survive. There is so much that could be done to generate money, I hope they make it work because it could be amazing.

Room Tip: The room with the freestanding bath in the bathroom is the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishpond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 81 in Penzance
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#20 of 81 in Penzance
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trereife House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trereife House

Property: Trereife House
Address: Treriefe House Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trereife House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trereife House (pronounced Treave), a beautiful centuries old family owned Estate, steeped in history, is being lovingly restored by the 7th generation family and is now open to the public. The house and grounds offer an unforgettable setting for almost any occasion, warmly hosted by the Le Grice family, Tim, Liz, Georgie and Pete and their faithful hound Duke. The predominantly Queen Anne Manor House, which in parts dates back to the reign of Elizabeth 1, and the formal gardens, are set in rolling grounds, in the stunning countryside just outside Penzance, South West Cornwall. The location affords easy access to the beaches and the many other holiday attractions Cornwall provides, as well as a quiet retreat in the country, we have easy access to the main trunk roads and railway connections and Newquay airport is also within easy striking distance. We offer self-catering holidays on the estate, and bed and breakfast in our Queen Anne Manor and converted courtyard block. We regularly host country fairs, concerts, functions and other events and provide a unique setting and facilities for unforgettable weddings and other important occasions. The Estate also boasts home produce, a well known horse breeding stable and many other country family holiday pursuits suitable for all ages, as well as a treasure trove of history to explore. Whatever your interest we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful much loved home, and to hosting whatever occasion you may wish to book, subject to availability. Join our mailing list to stay up to date with our exciting projects for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trereife House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trereife House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing