We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trereife House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trereife House
Ranked #4 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmefossen
Level Contributor
111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful family. Nice homemade preserves. Enjoyed our stay. The gardens were very nice. The horses were beautiful. We will come another time, for certain. The room were very clean and the toilets were simply grand. Nice parking lot near by. The breakfast was varm and dilicious, includig the poached eggs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lars H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    76
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
82
205
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is such an amazing house it felt just like stepping back in time a real piece of history uncovered. It was great to see local products used throughout.

The family run house was just perfect and a stone throw away from St. Michael's Mount and the Minack theatre.

It was great to walk around the garden and read about the history of the house and family.

Will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We liked everything about Trereife House. The people are friendly and thoughtful. The house is magnificent. The rooms and bathrooms are top quality. The grounds and gardens are gorgeous. Perhaps the only disadvantage for those arriving by foot (as we were) is the distance from central Penzance (about 20 minutes walk), but we came to see this as an advantage as we woke up to the sound of birds. This is one of our favourite places we have stayed in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jimjam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I would recommend Trereife as a great place to stay - a beautiful old house and really helpful owners. It probably doesn't suit all people as its a very old beautiful house and has kept its character - its not a clinical chain hotel where you wake up and think where i am i! as they all look the same.
Trereife has great character and charm, everything you would expect and a good position to explore Penzance and beyond

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was an "aparthotel" and was a big room with two double rooms and kitchen diner. All well equipped, and nice a cosy warm spot. A bit wonky as the rooms are in the old stable block and was subject to a TV makeover show and its shows. White emulsion paint everywhere and cream carpets are unwise on stairs out of the yard. Great for the cameras but wears poorly in old buildings and paint on furniture.... err no.

Some may find it a slightly spooky with bats, cobwebs and cobbles like as a film set of an 17th century street at the back of the main house. I loved it as reminded of a lodge House I used to live in. Like many old single glazed windows, hard to avoid condensation and mildew in the corners. Great new Sainsbury's down the road to stock up with goodies to cook in the well sorted kitchen. Toast and fire alarms was a close call though...

Some bits of the set up seem a bit under budget, but was great value. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelixAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I couldn't recommend this bed and breakfast more highly. The house is beautiful, the location is great, the host made us feel very at home and gave excellent suggestions about where to eat locally, the breakfast was the best breakfast we'd ever had at a B&B and the value for money was unbelievably good

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the 2 bed apartment with ensuite shower to each room. Location is perfect for attractions like St Ives, Minack Theatre, Mount St Michael, Land's End, Sennen Cove. Highly recommended.
I would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita_L912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
6.4 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trereife House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trereife House

Property: Trereife House
Address: Treriefe House Near Newlyn | Off the A30, Penzance TR20 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trereife House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trereife House (pronounced Treave), a beautiful centuries old family owned Estate, steeped in history, is being lovingly restored by the 7th generation family and is now open to the public. The house and grounds offer an unforgettable setting for almost any occasion, warmly hosted by the Le Grice family, Tim, Liz, Georgie and Pete and their faithful hound Duke. The predominantly Queen Anne Manor House, which in parts dates back to the reign of Elizabeth 1, and the formal gardens, are set in rolling grounds, in the stunning countryside just outside Penzance, South West Cornwall. The location affords easy access to the beaches and the many other holiday attractions Cornwall provides, as well as a quiet retreat in the country, we have easy access to the main trunk roads and railway connections and Newquay airport is also within easy striking distance. We offer self-catering holidays on the estate, and bed and breakfast in our Queen Anne Manor and converted courtyard block. We regularly host country fairs, concerts, functions and other events and provide a unique setting and facilities for unforgettable weddings and other important occasions. The Estate also boasts home produce, a well known horse breeding stable and many other country family holiday pursuits suitable for all ages, as well as a treasure trove of history to explore. Whatever your interest we look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful much loved home, and to hosting whatever occasion you may wish to book, subject to availability. Join our mailing list to stay up to date with our exciting projects for 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trereife House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trereife House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing