We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected pleasure”
Review of Alverne

Alverne
Ranked #28 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

There seems to be a theme of diners arriving at the Alverne because everywhere else is closed/full/inhospitable/exorbitantly priced/some combination of the above... and having an unexpectedly excellent meal. This was certainly our experience; a compromise swiftly turned into a real treat. The Alverne provided a warm welcome, a friendly and warm environment, and delicious starters, followed by a butternut squash risotto better than any I've tasted outside Italy, and fish dishes which were similarly appreciated. And at last I have found an establishment in Penzance which knows its way around an espresso machine. We didn't plan on visiting the Alverne, but we'll certainly be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russianbluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    54
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A happy accident”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

At this time of year there isn't much choice of restaurant mid week, so after my first choices turned out to be closed I went to the Alverne as a last resort. And I'm so glad I did! As we were eating early we got prime choice of seating right next to the stylish fountain. The menu looked lovely and I went for the deep fried Brie, a lovely winter warmer that didn't disappoint, and my friend had mushrooms on toast which sounds simple enough but looked and tasted lovely. For my main I had the steak with garlic butter, I thought it's a bit if a pub meal but went for it anyway, and it's the best steak I've had for years, cooked to perfection and so tender! And the dessert was the best sticky toffee I think I've ever had (as my favourite sweet treat I've had a few). All in all a fantastic evening, service was good, food fantastic and I would highly reccommend the Alverne to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank scillysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Buryan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class in every way”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Go there...you won't regret it.

In summer sit outside and watch the world go by...have a coffee and one of the best pastries you will ever taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hexadec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The staff made us very welcome and the food was lovely and good value. We had a very enjoyable evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Handy before the cinema, good food”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We ate here prior to seeing a film at the local cinema which was around the corner and down the street. The staff were lovely and very helpful with the children. The children's menu was "typical" with burgers, fish fingers etc. however, they were happy to serve un battered fresh fish done in a pan, plus freshly cut vegetables, so, healthier options are available. I had a delicious salad, plus, a risotto with fresh crab meat, mint and peas (although i think that they used rice rather than proper risotto rice or pasta). Still very tasty! The decor was lovely with exposed rock walls and comfy sofas on offer as well as tables. Thanks for a lovely dinner, made in good time for us to catch the film.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SDCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alverne also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Alverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing