We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Alverne

Alverne
Ranked #25 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Stratford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Of the four places we ate in Penzance (Mackerel Sky, the Old Lifeboat House, and The Turk's Head) this was the group consensus as the best. Excellent seafood, very good (although somewhat thunking) service, in spite of the fact that they were very busy. Easy to find as it is on the main street. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    59
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming restaurant with very good food.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

On trying desperately to find somewhere good to eat we happened across Alverne. A party of 4 arrived quite late for dinner but we were accommodated with a lovely smile and wonderful food and service. Would thoroughly recommend a visit. The cod loin and Creme brûlée we're very well presented and tasted very good too!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Two of us ordered steak one well done one rare, the well done was medium as was the rare. When It's such a small menu you'd expect the dishes to be perfect. The chips were very nice. We had to ask for steak knives. Asked for a jug of water which was brought out with no clean glasses to pour into. Not once were we asked if it was ok or if we needed anything. Pudding wasn't great either, sticky toffee pudding was drowning I. A watery sauce which burnt the back of my throat, again no one asked if it was ok. Not did they when we paid.

We used to come here a lot but the standards seem to have really slipped and I don't think we will come again.

Helpful?
Thank KernowDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most consistent and reliable eaterie in Penzance”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've tried most eating houses in Pz and I keep returning to this one. Food is good, interesting and reliable. Service generally good too and the wine list is easily the best value in Penzance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere with fantastic food.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This restaurant is totally reliable in the quality of their food and the warmth and efficiency of their service. It has never served any food which has been less than excellent. The varied menu (with the occasional new dish offered) has never failed to please and the dishes of the day (specialising in local fish) please my husband along with numerous other customers (to go by their comments). We are regular customers of this wonderful restaurant and would be completely lost without their top-notch coffee and occasional freshly-baked pastry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadameP431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alverne also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Alverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing